Sunday Salon – 2/1/09

tssbadge3Okay, so I joined Sunday Salon and now have more to write about reading!  Being new at blogging it sometimes takes a while for me to get it right.  I spend time proofing and checking links and an afternoon is gone.  But the Salon is a great idea and a great way for me to check in on what I’m actually reading.

I started a book for the World Citizen challenge called “City of Oranges“.  Very timely as it is about the City of Jaffa which lies next to Tel Aviv on the Mediterranean Sea.  The author, Adam LeBor, spent time listening to  Muslims, Christians and Jews talk about their history and lives together.  With all that is going on in Israel/Palestine I want to learn as much as I can about the place and the people.

I am also reading “The Secret Scripture” by Sebastian Berry.  A story of love and betrayal in modern Ireland,  Berry’s language is beautiful and dense and often has me reading a paragraph over and over,  out loud, just to hear the music of the it.  From page 168..

“I think for someone to have seen me then would have been as if they had seen a ghost – as I were a ghost. A wild-eyed, foolish sixty-five-year-old man in his dead wife’s bedroom, gone daft from grief, looking as usual for forgiveness and redemption the way normal people look for time.  The default mechanism of most every though of her.  Bet – redemption, redeem me, forgive me.  When the truth was she should have thrown me out.”

3 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

3 responses to “Sunday Salon – 2/1/09

  1. Welcome to Sunday Salon! Your next task is to go around TSS and visit other blogs and leave comments wherever you can!

  2. I’m glad you joined the Salon! I have The Secret Scripture on my TBR list for this month. The City of Oranges sound very interesting. Have a great week!

  3. Eva

    I just read The City of Oranges (have I reviewed it yet? of course not…I’m only the challenge host…lol), and I really liked it. Hope you do too!

Leave a Reply

