Weekly Geeks – Covers – 2/6/09

wgbookpileThis week it’s all about judging books by their covers! Pick a book–any book, really–and search out multiple book cover images for that book. They could span a decade or two (or more)…Or they could span several countries. Which cover is your favorite? Which one is your least favorite? Which one best ‘captures’ what the book is about?

What fun!  It was hard to choose a book, but I kept thinking about books that really influenced my love of reading and my sense of the value of books.  So I had to choose this one.

I first read “Farenheit 451”  when I was in eight grade and I can still remember my fear and outrage.  I tried to talk about the book with my girl friends and they just didn’t get it, didn’t understand why I was so excited about it.  Luckily I had a great German teacher who helped us form an extracurricular club.  We would meet in people’s homes, eat pizza and discuss all kinds of things, including the books we were reading for “fun”.  I learned alot, and made some friends outside my regular, rather small, circle.

I found about 20 different covers, in several different languages.

My favorite cover is the one on the upper right.  I think the artwork is beautiful…What do you think?376831

9604271579471

32195141160014941674

10 Comments

Filed under Weekly Geeks

10 responses to “Weekly Geeks – Covers – 2/6/09

  1. I think I like your choice Gavin. However I’m not even sure that the original copy that I read had a graphic on the cover

  2. I love your favorite one. My little sister says she prefers the cover of the face in the flame.

  3. I like the first one.. the red and black books on shelves.

  4. I really like the first one. I like the simplicity of the cover for such an engrossing book.

  5. I like the mauve one too. A bit understated..

    Covered!

  6. bernadetteinoz

    I think I prefer your choice too. I can’t remember what the cover looked like when I read this book (long time ago now)

  7. interesting covers, I do like the one on the top right.

  8. Hey we both featured Ray Bradbury for the covers (though I chose The Martian Chronicles).

    The red one on the left feels like the books are on fire. But yes, the cover on the upper right has the prettiest layout from the pool.

  9. I read this one years ago – Probably around high school. I think the cover had a lighthouse on it. Your covers are all neat. I kinda like the hair on fire one.

  10. Great covers. I haven’t read the book but I like the first one. :)

Leave a Reply

