How to Cook a Wolf by MFK Fisher

3704964_aI read this book because I had heard so many good things about Fisher’s writing.  Little did I know that it would fit right into the World War II challenge.  How to cook a Wolf was first published in 1942, shortly after the United States had entered the war.  Written to inspire during wartime shortages it reminds cooks that it takes more then a foodstuffs to provide nourishment for loved ones.

Fisher knew that  telling people to cut back on this or substitute that was no way to get through tough times.  She believed that people should follow their own instincts instead of some nutritional chart.  Experiment, dream, add an “expensive” ingredient to bring  joy to a meal.  These suggestions work just as well today as they did it WWII.   I truly enjoyed reading this and fully prepared  to greet the wolf at the door.

4 Comments

Filed under WWII challange 2009

4 responses to “How to Cook a Wolf by MFK Fisher

  1. I love to cook, and you know I am part of the WWII challenge, so this is a match for me I think! It is a fascinating premise. Thanks for the review!

  2. This sounds very interesting. I hadn’t heard of this one before your review. I posted it here on the challenge blog.

    –Anna

  3. This sound fascinating!

  4. I’m going to the library to check this out today. Like you, I’ve always heard how excellent MFK Fisher’s writing is, but hadn’t gotten around to reading her.

    Now I get to kill two wolf’s with one read: read an author I’ve been wanting, read about WWII.

    Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

