Sunday Salon

tssbadge33

A good week, mid-winter break  and sunshine!  This time of year can be  dreary in the Pacific Northwest but we had sun and fine weather.  The crocuses are up and the other day I caught several bees out in the blossoms.img_2632

I treated myself to trip to the art museum and saw an exhibit of 17th to 19th century art from Rajasthan, India called Garden and Cosmos.  For a century or two these painting have been hidden away in a fort in northern India, never seen until their discovery a few years ago.  Lush, amazingly beautiful paintings.  I am going to splurge and buy the catalogue.

I finished several books this week including A Mercy by Toni Morrison.  It is a wonderful, short novel but, in my opinion, isn’t as fine as some of her other work.  It felt rushed to me, and the characters seem a bit shallow.

51bgzr4cupl_sl160_Got some great titles from SPL so I am set for the week.  Started a book called Don’t Sleep, There are Snakes by Daniel L. Everett.   This one fills my anthropological cravings. From page 85: Pirahas laugh about everything. They laugh at their own misfortune: when someone’s hut blows over in a rainstorm, the occupants laugh more loudly than anyone.  They laugh when they catch a lot of fish. They laugh when they catch no fish.  They laugh when they’re full and they laugh when they’re hungry.  When they’re sober,  they are never demanding or rude.  Since my first night among them I have been impressed with their patience, their happiness, and their kindness.

I have got to cut down on my holds at the library or I’ll never get to those marvelous ocean books that came in the mail!

5 Comments

Filed under Art, Sunday Salon

5 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. The Garden and Cosmos exhibit sounds fascinating. I am glad you had a chance to go and see it.

    I’ve been wondering about A Mercy. A coworker was reading it not too long ago, but I haven’t had a chance to check back in with her to see what she thought. I’ve only read two of Toni Morrison’s books so far.

    I hope you have a great week!

  2. Aw, that’s too bad about A Mercy. It’s hard to imagine a less than stellar Toni Morrison book! I’m glad you had such a nice week :)

  3. I haven’t read A Mercy yet. What is your favorite Morrison book? Yesterday I picked up Don’t Sleep, There are Snakes from my library! Hopefully I will get to it sometime in the next couple of weeks. So many books, so little time . . .=) Have a great week!

  4. I’m still looking towards reading A Mercy soon. I had a feeling it wouldn’t be as good as a few of her best works, but she’s one of those authors that I want to read everything written by her.

    I’m waiting for your thoughts on your ocean books.. happy week! :)

  5. I haven’t been to a museum in awhile. Well, over Christmas break was the last time. I could use another trip to one soon. :) The exhibit you went to sounds amazing.

Leave a Reply

