Dangerous Laughter: Thirteen Stories By Steven Millhauser

030726756301_sx140_sclzzzzzzz_1Dangerous Laughter is a book that I find difficult to describe, but I loved it.  The stories are mundane, bizarre and beautifully written.  They cover human obsessions and human foibles.  The writing is dense and disturbing in a gorgeously creepy kind of way.

Millhauser writes with a certain distance and detachment that I found very chilling. Some of the stories remind me of Calvino or Borges.  I sometimes had to put the book down because it was just too weird, but I kept going back…  Spooky stuff, like ghosts stories for adults but without the ghosts.  I will definitely end up with a copy on my bookshelf.

Other reviews:

Kim at Sophistocated Dorkiness.

Lily at Related Reading

4 Comments

Filed under Review, Stories

4 responses to “Dangerous Laughter: Thirteen Stories By Steven Millhauser

  1. OK, I am officially intrigued. I will store this in the back of my head for future entertainment!

  2. lena

    You had me at Borges. <3 <3

  3. Yep, you had me at Calvino and Borges too!

  4. Kim

    Yeah, I thought the stories in this book were weird too, but I kept wanting to read them! I loved how I could see the way they tied together without it being too obvious.

    Thanks for the link, I linked back here too.
    Kim

Leave a Reply

