Weekly Geeks – One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabrial Garcia Marquez

wgbookpile1For this week:

Let’s take a magical history tour this week, with a focus on Historical Fiction. That is, contemporary novels with a historical setting. I like to give choices, so here they are, pick the question(s) that appeal to you:

Do you have a favorite book that really pulled you back in time, or perhaps gave you a special interest in that period? Include a link to a review of it on another book blog if you can find one (doesn’t have to be a Weekly Geek participant).

My favorite period is the Middle Ages, both for historical fiction and fantasy and several people have blogged about some great books already so I’m heading in a completely different direction.  What about fiction that covers an extended period of time?  My favorite novel of this type is one that changed my view of literature completely when I was introduced to it by my literature  professor.

006053104501_sy190_sclzzzzzzz_2 One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez was first published in Spanish in 1967 and was translated into English in 1970.  It has since been published in 27 languages and Garcia Marquez went on to win the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1982.

The novel chronicles the Buendia family over several generations and tells the history of their town, Macondo.  It is unclear how much time is actually covered for time bends, slows down, speeds up and at times breaks down completely.   There is a sense that everything is happening at once.  It explores the issue of eternityand combines many literary elements. It introduced me to magical realism.  It also sparked my interest in Latin American history as well as opening the door to the realities of European Colonialism.  I began to read other authors,  Julio Cortazar,  Mario Vargas Llosa, Isabel Allende  and eventually Eduardo Galeano’s Memories of Fire.

This novel is in my top 10 books of all time list.  I would recommend it to anyone.

Several links about One Hundred Years of Solitude and Gabriel Garcia Marquez:

http://www.nytimes.com/books/97/06/15/reviews/marque-solitude.html

http://www.themodernword.com/gabo

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gabriel_Garc%C3%ADa_M%C3%A1rquez


11 Comments

Filed under Weekly Geeks

11 responses to “Weekly Geeks – One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabrial Garcia Marquez

  1. Well, if you have read anything at all on my blog, you know I am Obsessed by the Outlander Series, which takes place in the mid 1700’s in Scotland, the land of my forefathers. The audio discs are anywhere between 28 to 26 discs long, and there are six books in the series. I am married to them at this point! I also became quite interested in Chicago architecture once I read Devil in the White City. I love a book where I learn something!

  2. One Hundred Years of Solitude is one of my favourites, too. :)

  3. Thanks for the suggestion

  4. Hi Gavin, don’t we love the same books? This is in my top 10 books of all time, too! :D

  5. bernadetteinoz

    Thanks for the tip. I’m going to see if this one is at the library.

  6. I’m ashamed that I’ve never read it… but that’s subject to change in the future, right? ;)

    Great post!

  7. I loved that book to bits. I need to read it again!

  8. Sandy – I have yet to read the Outlander Series but I have friends who have spent years reading the books to each other out loud!

    Maree – I’m glad you like it, have you read any of his other work? Oh, thanks for introducing me to Once Upon A Time III. I’m going to send a link to Carl today.

    Kerrie – You’re welcome, thanks for introducing me to Aussie Crime fiction!

    Claire – I’m glad we share a love for the same books and you have introduced me to some new ones. I have a question, where is that lovely river your boys are playing in?

    Bernadette – I hope you enjoy it.

    Nymeth – Why doesn’t the fact that you surprise me? I need to read it again as well, maybe for a challenge, or is that cheating? By the way, I’m hooked on Once Upon a Time III.

  9. Hope you are all better, Gavin! I can’t wait to see your review of Sea of Poppies. That’s on my Orbis T. list. Happy Spring!

  10. alirambles

    Interesting post. I’ve read 100 Years of Solitude and never thought of it as historical fiction, but now that you mention it, I see your point!

  11. Pingback: Weekly Geeks 2009-11: Historical Fiction | dreaming out loud

Leave a Reply

