Once Upon A Time III

out3banner6100I know, I know,  it’s another challenge, and I said I wouldn’t but it’s fantasy, it’s folklore, it’s fairytales!  Sign me up.

Possible reads:

The Alchemy of Stone by Ekaterina Sedia

The Book of the Unknown: Tales of the Thirty-Six by Jonathon Keats

The Forest of Hands and Teeth  by Carrie Ryan

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

In The Cities of Coin and Spice by Catherynne M. Valente

The Bell at Sealey Head by Patricia McKillip

Map of Dreams by M. Rickert

The Door in The Hedge by Robin McKinley

The Language of the Night: essays on fantasy and science fiction by Ursula Le Guin

In Search of Myths and  Heroes : exploring four epic legends of the world by Michael Wood

When They Severed Earth from Sky : how the human mind shapes myth by Paul and E.J.W. Barber

12 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Once Upon A Time III

12 responses to “Once Upon A Time III

  1. Fantastic list! I’m especially curious about the books by Ekaterina Sedia and Catherynne M. Valente as well as the non-fiction titles. I recently mooched a copy of The Language of the Night, and if it arrives before the end of the challenge (it’s coming via surface mail, so you never know) I’ll have to include it too.

  2. with a list like that how could you NOT join the challenge??!!

  3. I’ve never read any of these, Gavin, but looking forward to your thoughts.. Isn’t this exciting?? Lol.

  4. What a great list of possible reads. I need to finish Ekaterina’s first book and I have Alchemy of Stone waiting as well. I have Valente’s second book. Need to pick up or borrow the first volume from the library.

    I’m glad you are joining in, I think you’ll have fun. I answered you on my blog but I’ll go ahead and tell you here, listening to audiobooks and podcasts count to me, so listen away!!!

  5. Yay, you caved!
    I haven’t read any of those, but some of them sound really good. :)

  6. Hats off to you! I caved to a Classics Challenge, just when I thought I could take on no more. It is a sickness. Anyway, nobody is going to hunt us down and shoot us if we don’t meet our challenges, right?

  7. That’s a great list! I love Patricia McKillip and Ursula K. Le Guin. Your non-fiction choices sound really interesting. I’m looking forward to your reviews.

  8. What a great list!! I can’t wait to read your reviews. I’m with Robin….your non-fiction books look outstanding!

  9. I need to apologize to you in a big way. I can sometimes be as dense as they come, but I thought you were a male, and just figured out that you are in fact, not! I guess it was the name that threw me. With that said, I did not include you in the Sisterhood Award that I just posted a couple of days ago. Now that I know you are a sister, please accept the award from me! Just grab the button off my post. You deserve it, you are so supportive of me!

  10. Vasilly

    I love your list! I’m currently reading The Book of the Unknown and loving it! Alef the Idiot, which is the first story, is wonderful!
    Happy reading!

  11. Nymeth – I am really excited about this challenge. I hope you receive “Language of the Night” in time but I know how slow mooches can be. If you do receive it maybe we could read it together?

    Deslily – You also have a great list, and have introduced me to some new authors.

    Claire – It is very exciting. I love the thought of exchanging ideas about these books with all of you.

    Carl V. – Thanks for the welcome!

    Maree – Yeah, I caved. Are you proud of yourself, you bad blogger?:)

    Sandy – I realized, thankfully, that there are no challenge police. It’s just that unfinished lists drive me CRAZY!

    Robin – McKillip got me back into fantasy after years of avoiding it. I love her work. The non-fiction stuff does look very intriguing.

    Stephanie – Oh, dear. One more challenge. What is this End Of The World thing? Am I
    in trouble again? Is is dystopian fiction?

    Vassily – I can’t wait to get the Book of the Unknown from my library and to read what you think of it.

  12. Pingback: Stainless Steel Droppings » Blog Archive » Once Upon a Time III

Leave a Reply

