Sunday Salon

tssbadge32

Happy Spring!  A good reading week, even though I was down with a cold for two days.  I finished four books and reviewed two of them and have started reading Sea of Poppies.  I’m loving it, Ghosh being one of my favorite Indian authors.   I also finished a wonderful graphic novel.  I enjoy graphic novels and read them for the sheer pleasure of story and art.

Skim by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki is a wonderful book, moving and funny and brilliantly drawn.  It’s the 088899753101_sx140_sclzzzzzzz_story of a husky, would-be witch struggling  in a private girls school.  There are friends, cliques and crushes.  There are students dealing with a friend’s suicide and with depression.  Adults are as messed up as the students, if not more so.  Friendship, love,  finding your sexuality and finding yourself are all mixed up here in a beautifully told, beautifully drawn book.

I checked the books I have read so far for my challenges and feel pretty good about them  so I’m going to do something silly and join another one!  Have a wonderful week!

5 Comments

Filed under Graphic Novels, Review, Sunday Salon, Weekly Geeks

5 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. I almost bought this book the other day. But then I realized that the paperback was available for pre-order already, so I might as well wait :P It really does sound brilliant! I bet I’ll love it.

  2. Vasilly

    I’ve been trying to get my library to buy this one! I can’t wait to see your challenge list! Have a great week!

  3. I am hopelessly behind in my reading challenges, but I keep getting involved in very long books that take forever to read. Why do I do such things? I keep telling myself that the year is young…that I will get to the stack sometime! Have a great week!

  4. It’s so easy for me to get carried away with challenges. I must resist. I must resist.

  5. Pingback: 4 Graphic Novel Reviews « The Zen Leaf

Leave a Reply

