Short Story Weekend

out3shortstory

Red as Blood by Tanith Lee.

From The Penguin Book of Modern Fantasy by Women, edited by A. Susan Williams and Richard Glyn Jones,  Penguin, 1995.

A retelling of Snow White with a unique twist.  The Witch Queen is deeply religious and is concerned about Bianca, daughter of the first queen.  Bianca does not like mirrors, in fact, the Queen’s magic mirror does not even see Bianca.  Binca will not accept a golden crucifix nor will she walk among white roses.  There is  huntsman, and seven dwarfs and, in the end,  a prince riding a white horse.

This tale is strange, dark and very well written.  Find it if you can.

2 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Once Upon A Time III, Short Stories

2 responses to “Short Story Weekend

  1. I definitely will! Thank you for bringing it to my attention, Gavin. I think I want the whole book, actually!

  2. I don’t usually get into short stories much, but I think I would really like these fantasy oriented ones. I love twists on fairy tales.

Leave a Reply

