Herding Cats 2

No more challenges but who could resist something called  Herding Cats 2?

From Vasilly at 1330v passed on from Let’s Get Literate,  something a little different.  This is only a challenge if you want it to be.  You pick five of your favorite books  read between 2007 and 2009.  List them for others to see.  Then you pick as many books as you want to read from other participants lists.  There  is no pressure to review these books.  The challenge runs from April 1st to December 31st. Sign up here.

The hardest part was picking five books:

Home of  the Brave by Katherine Alice Applegate.  One of the best young adult books I’ve read in the past five years.  The story of a young Sudanese “lost boy” learning to live in America.

The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate by Ted Chiang.  A short, lovely book of speculative fiction.  It reminded me of  The Arabian Nights, on of my all time favorites.

Julius Winsome by Gerard Donovan.  A dark, beautifully written novel of revenge.

The Library at Night by Alberto Manguel.  A brilliant, chaotic book on the meaning of libraries.   “Libraries,” Manguel  says, “have always seemed to me pleasantly mad places, and for as long as I can remember I’ve been seduced by their labyrinthine logic.”

Like Trees, Walking by Ravi Howard.  The fictionalized account of the aftermath of a real-life event, the 1981 lynching of Michael Donald in Mobile, Alabama.

My list of books to read is here.

4 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Herding Cats 2

4 responses to “Herding Cats 2

  1. Vasilly

    I’m a bad influence on you! =) I’m adding some of your books to my list.At least there’s no pressure to review!

  2. This happens to be a favorite saying of mine. I usually use it when I am dealing with my children and their friends, in a public place.

  3. I like this mix of books here.

    Also, a book with time travel! Want.

  4. I love your list! I hadn’t heard of the Ted Chiang, and it sounds like something I would LOVE. And The Library at Night is one I’ve been meaning to read.

Leave a Reply

