Sunday Salon

tssbadge35

Sunday Salon: All Things Bookish.  My sweetie sent me a bookish  link to what he considers the funniest NYT article he’s ever read.  I have to agree.

This week’s Weekly Geek project reminds  me  of why I started this blog in the first place.  To introduce people to the books I’ve been reading and to connect with other people who love books.  I find I have not written reviews for all the books I have read and enjoyed recently.  As a new blogger, I am still hesitant and not sure of my reviewing skills.   Other bloggers have encouraged me and made me feel very welcome.  So, I promise to review more books and, in the spirit of Dewey, link to other reviews and ask people to link to mine.  There are several ways to search for book reviews including:

Book Blogs Search

Semicolon’s Saturday Review Of Books

As for what I’m reading right now,  Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh, from page 307:

The Burnham compound in Kidderpore was a large one, consisting of several godowns and bankshalls.  The shed that served as the gomusta’s private daftar lay in one corner of the compound, adjoining a lane.  When prospective clients wished to avail themselves privately of Baboo Nob Kissin’s sevices as a bespoke moneylender, it was there, Paulette knew, that they went to meet him.  This, for instance, was what her father had done – but for herself, in her current situation, the risks attendant upon venturing into property owned by her former benefactor were too great to make this a comfortable option; she decided instead to waylay the gomusta as he stepped off his ferry, at the nearby ghat.

Have a wonderful week!

11 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

11 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. Ooh you’re reading Sea of Poppies.. how are you liking it so far? Have a wonderful week, too, Gavin! :D

  2. Vasilly

    Gavin, you’re one of my favorite bloggers and you do a great job reviewing books. I’m glad you’re part of the blogging community. I love the cover of Sea of Poppies but I’m swamped with books so I can’t read it anytime soon. Enjoy your book and have a great week.

  3. Thanks for the NYT link! And the laugh. Thanks to your sweetie too. Have a great reading week, Gavin.

  4. Gavin, just have fun with it and post whatever you think! I enjoy your thoughts so much! What’s great about blogs–what makes them better than “professional” reviews–is seeing the struggle, the ambiguity, the pleasure that other readers face, same as the rest of us. :)

  5. adevotedreader

    I hadn’t come across the book blogs searach before, so thanks for the link, it will come in handy.

    I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Sea of Poppies, as people who’s judgemnet I respect both loved and ahted it.

  6. I think I’d have to read that book with a good dictionary handy! Sounds good, though.

  7. thekoolaidmom

    I started my blog so I could write a full review of the books I’ve read. Originally, I wrote the reviews on the books’ pages on LibraryThing. However, I didn’t like the idea of posting thousand word reviews there. So I started Mt. TBR to solve that, then post a section of the review with the URL on LT. If a person wants the longer version, they can click it… I don’t feel like I’m hogging the screen then.

    I agree with Priscilla, I would rather read what a reader like me thought of a book than what some pompous windbag who’s had the love of books schooled out of them has to say about the metaphoric aspects of the character’s daily habits or why an author has committed a literary faux pas with loquatious verbage about butterflies.

  8. Thank you for the link. That indeed was a very funny article. :-)

    I am really curious about Sea of Poppies. It sounds like such an interesting book. I look forward to reading your final thoughts on it.

  9. Sea of Poppies seems like a good read. Will check it out.

    BTW, read Kafka on the Shore by Murakami. It will suck you right in!

    Thanks for visiting me.

  10. Claire – I should have a review of Sea of Poppies by the weekend.

    Vasilly – Thanks for your words of encouragement!

    Frances – I’m glad you enjoyed the NYT story!

    Priscilla – Thanks and I agree wholeheartedly about books blogs. It is fun to read what others are thinking about
    books. I am amazed at how dedicated book bloggers are.

    adevotedreader – After reading Sea of Poppies I can see how people would either love or hate it.

    Carrie K. – Ha! Ghosh uses lots of nautical pidgin made up of English, French, Indian dialects and Chinese. There is a glossary and a great deal of his research for the book was based on the languages used in and around Indian in the early 1800’s.

    Koolaidmom – I will have to find your reviews on LT. I agree that it is much more interesting to read reviews by someone who shares my tastes who doesn’t have their nose stuck up in the rarefied air. It is amazing to me how many genre-based book blogs there are out there!

    LiteraryFeline – I’m glad you enjoyed the link. I hope to review Sea of Poppies by the end of the week.

    Gautami – I’d actually love to know what you think of Sea of Poppies if you read it. I will try Kafka on The Shore. I had no idea you were a poet. Rooted is a lovely site. Someday maybe I’ll share some things with you!

  11. sea of poppies has been on my tbr list forever! well, since last year. :-) maybe someday i’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

