Sunday Salon

tssbadge3What a weird week, all the way around.  The weather started out cold, gray and rainy with slush snow on Wednesday and has changed quickly to bright sun and warm temperatures.  Apparently we had the coldest March in 30 years.

I ended up with some nasty food-born thing on Wednesday night, suffered through Thursday and by Friday felt like I’d been run over by a truck.  I’m much better now and normally wouldn’t mention such a thing but I was also extremely productive as far as reviews go.  It’s like my brain clicked and things started flowing.  How strange?

napowrimo2009_1

I also discovered ReadWritePoem and the wonderful napowrimo 2009.  Very inspiring!  I did finally get into the garden and planted peas and beans.  It felt good to be out there.

As for what I’m reading right now.  From Steer Towards Rock by Fae Myenne Ng:078686097901_sx140_sy225_sclzzzzzzz_

“Listen.  Like anybody, I believed that what I didn’t have was what I wanted most.  Without a father, I had no claim to a history and I felt beneath other people.  I wanted a father’s protection.  When my mother mourned that there was no son to avenge his death, my grief doubled.  Why was it that a son could offer blood but a daughter could only offer tears?  Why was a daughter a spiritual orphan?  Why did a daughter float between natal and marital families?” Page 83-84.

Have a wonderful week!  You can find out more about Sunday Salon here.

9 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

9 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. You must be in the south to be able to plant already. The weather hasn’t made up its mind here yet either. (I’m in Canada) Sorry you were ill, but you wrote reviews through all that? I’m chronically ill and can’t form a sentence when I’m down with it. Love the quote. I look forward t some of those reviews. Have a better week this time, ok?

  2. Vasilly

    I’m happy you’re feeling better.Steer Toward Rock is on my nightstand right now!I was just wondering if I should pick it up. It does sound promising.

  3. Glad to know you’re feeling better. Have a wonderful week, too!

  4. Thank you for giving us a heads up on NaPoWriMo. Sounds great! I need to get over there.

  5. Eva

    I had a food-related health problem this week too! What nationality is the author of Steer Toward Rock?

  6. I am glad you are feeling better, Gavin. I love the cover of Steer Towards the Rock, and the quote has piqued my interest. I look forward to reading your thoughts on it when you finish. I hope you have a great week!

  7. Oh dear, no fun at all with food illnesses. Glad you are feeling better! I read Ng’s Bone several years ago, and it was pretty good, if memory serves. Can’t wait to read your review of this one. :)

  8. Sandra – I’m in Seattle and it is normally safe to get peas in the ground around the middle of March. Not this year. Where are you in Canada? Chronic illness can be a real drag, my husband has health issues and some days are good and some are not so good. Have a great week.

    Vasilly – Thanks, I’m enjoying Steer Toward Rock. It’s a quick read compared to Sea of Poppies.

    Claire – Thank you!

    April – Your welcome, I’m finding NaPoWriMo
    fun and not feeling pressured to write every day.

    Eva – Ng is a first generation Chinese-American. Food-born illness is nasty! Hope you’re feeling better.

    LiteraryFeline – I’m much better now and am enjoying the book. I hope to review it by midweek.

    Priscilla – I have Bone on one of my list somewhere but got to Steer Toward Rock first. I should have a review up by midweek.

  9. We have snow in Michigan today! Ich :(

    Your reading sounds quite interesting…I’ll add that one to my library list!

Leave a Reply

