Weekly Geeks – What’s Cookin’

wgbookpile1What shall we cook today? It seems that for most of us, a bit of our book obsession would carry over to the cookbook genre, so this week for Weekly Geeks, let’s talk cookbooks! Here are some ideas to get you started:

–Describe your cookbook collection. How many cookbooks do you own? A lot? Just a few? None at all?

I own about two dozen, including hardbacks, paperbacks and spiral bound books.


–Do you like to collect certain types of cookbooks? Say, from certain chefs? From places you visit? From a particular food group or style?

I tend to get interested it learning about foods from different regions.  These regions change over time.  Right now I’m interested in Middle Eastern/Mediterranean food.  I am working my way back to being vegetarian.  Not vegan, I love cheese too much.

–When buying cookbooks, what do you look for? Does it need to have pictures? Spiral binding? A specific type of font?

I try hard not to buy cookbooks, often borrowing books from the library or from friends.  Once in a while I get seduced into having to own a book, usually by the text or the photos.  This is the lastest one:037540506201_sx140_sy225_sclzzzzzzz_

The New Book of Middle Eastern Food by Claudia Roden. This book is filled with the history of food in the Middle East as well as wonderful folktales and stories related to different foods and different countries.

068815305401_sx140_sy225_sclzzzzzzz_Another book I am intrigued by is A Mediterranean Feast:The Story of the Birth of Celebrated Cuisines by Clifford A. Wright. It is packed with history, economics, geography and cultural.  I’m trying to find a used copy.

-What is your favorite cookbook?

I don’t really have a favorite.  I enjoy reading about food and cooking and have recently discovered the writings of Elizabeth David and of M.F. K.Fisher and am loving both of them.

–Share a recipe from one of your favorite cookbooks. Include a picture if you can.

One of my most loved  and oldest cookbooks is Tassajara Cooking by Edward Espe Brown. I learned the basics from this one and also learned to trust my own instincts when cooking.  There is a wonderful documentary about Brown’s philosophy of  food and cooking called How to Cook Your Life.

Pumpkin Soup

Pumpkin, onion, salt, oil, water, cinnamon. nutmeg.

Cut the pumpkin open and remove the seeds and stringy portion of the interior.  Cut the pumpkin into one inch cubes.  Slice the onion, and saute for a couple of minutes, then add the pumpkin.  Saute for about five minutes, stirring , then add a cup of water, put on a lid and simmer for forty to fifty minutes until pumpkin is quite tender.  At this point the pumpkin, or a portion of it, can be mashed to thicken the broth.  Add more water to the onion-pumpkin mixture to make it soupy.  Heat and season with salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

I plan on making this soup with squash tomorrow night and if I remember I will add a photo!


8 Comments

Filed under Cookbooks, Weekly Geeks

8 responses to “Weekly Geeks – What’s Cookin’

  1. Yummy. I love pumpkin soup. Here’s my post.

  2. Mm. I love any type of squash soup. It was fun reading your post! This is an exciting week for the geeks. I’ve yet to make my post but thrilled to visit all your posts in the meantime. Isn’t it overwhelming, though, sometimes, how there are so many cookbooks out there? You would think we cooked a different meal everyday all our lives, lol. It’s fascinating.

  3. That soup sounds delicious! And thanks for the heads-up on that Claudia Roden cookbook. Must check that out. Also found it interesting tha you are getting back to vegetarianism. I was a vegetarian for years until I married the ultimate carnivore. Now I find myself in the same position as you. Been sneaking in meatless meals a few times a week to the family!

  4. I have never had pumpkin soup. Gonna make it today as I got a large pumpkin!

    WG: Cookery Special</a

    Kill Word Verification

  5. The New Book of Middle Eastern Food looks really interesting – I’ll have to see if I can order a copy from the library – folk tales with food sounds like a perfect combination!

  6. rikkiscraps

    That pumpkin soup sounds delicious and easy to make to boot. Thanks for the recipe. Rikki

  7. Your sounds really good. Yum!

    Haven’t decided yet on the read a thon.

  8. That sounds really good!!

Leave a Reply

