Sunday Salon

tssbadge3Find out about Sunday Salon here.


I spent lots of time yesterday visiting the readers for Dewey’s Read-a-thon.  Many thanks to the deweys-readathonbuttonwonderful organizers Nymeth, Hannah, and Trish.  This is an amazing group of dedicated folks reading and blogging for charity or just for the fun of it.  Tried to visit every one, probably failed.  I may have to join the readers next time around.

Something strange has happened to my blog and until  WordPress responds I am unable to post images or add blog links to my site.  This has got me a bit flustered as I don’t know what I did wrong.

I heard from WordPress  and things are fine now.  I did nothing wrong, it was a glitch on the site and the person responding apologized. What fascinates me is how quickly I’ve become really attached to posting and to the blogging community.  Had no idea this would happen but I guess this creative outlet is a big part of my life now.  I will  be out of town for three days starting Wednesday, will not have internet access  and will not be able to post.  I wonder how prolific I will be when I get back.

2908425234_55d973018e_oI’ve been writing and posting poems using the wonderful prompts from ReadWritePoem.  I had no idea I would be brave enough to post my creative writing to the web but it is great fun and the people connected with this site are very supportive.

I am reading through the Fables series by Bill Willingham and loving it.   I also found a great book at the library called Show and Tell: Exploring the Fine Art of Children’s Book Illustration all about the early lives of illustrators and how they discovered their art. 081184971601_sx140_sy225_sclzzzzzzz_

I am half way through Someone Knows My Name and have started The Forever War.  Both of these books are intense in very different ways.  I will review them when I’ve finished reading them and have had time to assimilate all they hold. Happy Sundayto all and have a wonderful week!

11 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

11 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. Thanks for popping by yesterday Gavin and for the encouragement. I hope you do join the readers next time. It sure doesn’t take long to become attached to the blogging community does it? I found the same thing too. My day doesn’t seem complete now without stopping in to visit my bloggy friends.

  2. Gavin, I have been loving your poetry and applaud that courage you speak of. It must feel so liberating after getting past the initial nervousness! I also love the Show and Tell book. Another librarian friend shared it with me. The world of children’s book illustration is amazingly creative these days. Today I am reading Unaccustomed Earth. Happy reading!

  3. Gavin, I’d miss three days without internet access, too! However, I’d probably read more books and see more movies, two things that are dear to my entertainment heart. What a strange world it has become.

  4. Thanks for all the great encouragement you gave me yesterday. I really needed it and I appreciate it. Show and Tell looks like a great book. Have a happy Sunday.

  5. Thank YOU, Gavin! You were great.

    I hope the problems with WP get sorted soon!

  6. I hate going anywhere without internet access! I miss blogging when I don’t do it, too. Hope it’s not too painful. =)

  7. You did SUCH a great job visiting me yesterday. Thanks so much. Every time that I could no longer focus on the words anymore I would open up my laptop and was thrilled to have some comments of encouragement. You were a pro commenter!!! Thanks so much, it means a lot. Did you enjoy it??? It sounds like you did in you post. I am glad you had fun, it was certainly because of you that I had more fun :) Thank you.

  8. Isn’t Fables fantastic? I loved it. And I know just how you feel about quickly becoming attached to the blogging community! I don’t know what I’d do without it.

  9. Your poems are inspirational…you should publish them!!! I’m sorry about your posting problems. This is the story of my life, you see, with blogger. It is mostly a user problem, but still, frustrations abound.

    Have a good few days off, and will look forward to you returning!

  10. Darlene – Being a cheerleader was great fun and I will be reading next time around.

    Frances – Thank you for your kindness. I am enjoying Show and Tell!

    Richard – The internet has created a whole new universe, it is a strange world! I’ll be one a trip with 16 fifth graders so I don’t know how much time I’ll have for reading…

    Vasilly – You are welcome!

    Nymeth – Everything with WP is fixed, thank the gods! Again, you and Hannah and Trish are amazing.

  11. Meghan – Being offline for three days will be fine and I should have lots to write about when I get back.

    Bethany – You are welcome, I really don’t know how some of you did it but I’ll be joining next time. I love your chickens!

    Chris – Fables is great. I’ve join the Graphic Novel challenge and will hopefully be introduced to some new writers/artists.

    Sandy – Thanks for you lovely words about my poems. I’m back late on Friday night but will probably be too sleepy to type! Have a good week.

Leave a Reply

