Weekly Geeks

wgbookpile Information on Dewey’s Weekly Geeks found here.   This week’s topic:

We are surrounded by our fellow creatures and often our lives are enriched by their presence, whether it be sharing our homes with them or simply being blessed to see them in passing.

This week you are asked to share books (fiction or nonfiction) and/or movies which center around an animal or animals.



  • Which are your favorites?
  • Which touched your heart the most?
  • Which have found their way onto your wish lists or TBR stacks?
  • Is there a childhood favorite?
  • Have you ever named a pet after an animal from a book or movie?

You get the idea! Have fun with this; use your imagination. Share your thoughts!

Animals have always been an important part of my life.  At times, when I have felt most alone, my connection with them has actually kept me alive.  Books about animals taught me about friendship, courtesy,  empathy and compassion.    The incredible loss of habitat animals suffer through our negligence is a fundamental flaw in human behavior and must be changed.  It puts us and our planet at great risk.

Childhood favorites:

Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A.Milne

Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter

Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Graham

and of course Charlotte’s Web and Stuart Little by E.B. White

Young  adult favorites:

The Incredible Journey by Sheila Burnford.

All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot.

Ring of Bright Water by Gavin Maxwell

Books that I’ve learned from as an adult:

Kinship with all Life by J. Allen Boone

The Mind of the Raven by Bernd Heinrich

Of Wolves and Men by Barry Lopez

The Mind of the Dolphin by John C. Lilly

Salmon Totem by Freeman House

The Hidden Lives of Dogs by Elizabeth Marshall Thomas

The Human Nature of Birds by Theodore X. Barber

The Animal Dialogues: Uncommon Encounters in the Wild by Craig Childs

I could go on and on.  I also want to mention a wonderful film we watched some weeks ago:

The Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill.

Two new books that recently entered our home:

Solitary Goose by Sydney Landon Plum and Corvus: A Life with Birds by Esther Woolfson.

I once had a cat named Titus named for the character from The Gormenghast Trilogy by Mervyn Peake.

Our current companion gave us a bit of a scare last month but she’s fine now, if a bit long in the tooth.  Her name is Kit, short for Kitsune, the fox of Japanese folklore.  She does love having her picture taken.

img_2901img_2896

16 Comments

Filed under Animals, Weekly Geeks

16 responses to “Weekly Geeks

  1. Oh, what a gorgeous dog! Like you, animals have always played an important role in my life. All your childhood favorites were also *my* childhood favorites :) I also enjoyed The Hidden Life of Dogs immensely. Have you ever read Winterdance by Gary Paulsen? It is a wonderful story about the author’s training for and completion of the Iditarod – funny anad heartwarming, it is one of my favorite animal books!

    • Wendy – She is cute and she knows it:) I have not read Winterdance but will add it to my list. Any others you can think of?

  2. Nice list books book. I wrote about cats.

  3. I love the Pooh and Peter Rabbit books, too, but am afraid none of the other ones here. But I agree with Wendy, Kitsune is gorgeous! I love her look. She’s even looking straight at the camera with a sort of tilt to her head, lol.

    • Claire – I think part of me is a frustrated zoologist, which is why I read books about animals. Kit is quite a ham and knows when the camera is out!

  4. Winnie the Poe is a wonderful book. I read it to my son while still pregnant. I read the series to him when he was a baby. Sadly, he doesn’t love the characters. He thought Rabbit was a mean old lady:)

    Kitsune is a beauty.

    • Sari – The thing about the Pooh characters is they are very much like humans. I can see Rabbit as a some what cranky old lady!

  5. Gorgeous photo of your dog _ I love seeing other people’s pets. :)
    Happy Weekly Geeks

  6. What kind of dog is she? I have never read Winnie the Pooh and I really should. I love the character Eyeore

    • Shannon – We think she’s part Border Collie, part Chow and part Lab. She is very willful and at times very playful. If you can, read Pooh out loud, it is loads of fun.

  7. rikkiscraps

    Oh, yeah, I did enjoy reading the Herriot books.And of course, Pater Rabbit and Pooh and just wonderful.
    Have a good Sunday!

  8. You had a much better time than I did thinking of adult books – your dog is absolutely gorgeous!

  9. I see we both featured The Mind of the Raven this week. Wasn’t that the most fascinating book? I keep trying to convince people to read it, but they look a little skeptical when I tell them what a page turner it is. Going to check out some of your other titles later today.

  10. *takes notes* I love books featuring animals and you have some great suggestions here!

    Kit, short for Kitsune – perfect name! She’s lovely, and I’m glad to hear she’s doing fine.

Leave a Reply

