Sunday Salon

image0

Tiqa

tssbadge3

What a wild week!  I spent three days in Vancouver, B.C. with 16 fifth graders and we had a wonderful time.  We took the train.  The kids planned where we would go, organized some meals,  figured out how to get around  and prepared history “presentations” on different areas of the city.  The best part for me was spending the night at The Vancouver Aquarium and sleeping next to the Beluga habitat.  There were three of them in the tank, a grandma, a mom and a 11 month old baby named Tiqa. It was amazing, I hardly slept, neither did the kids.  If you get to Vancouver the aquarium is worth a visit as is beautiful Stanley Park, where it is located.

We also visited the  Museum of  Anthropology at the University of British Columbia, another of my favorite places.

The trip has thrown off my writing  for NaPoWriMo and my book reviews.  I’m going to work on some poems this evening.

I finished reading Someone Knows My Name and a graphic novel, Laika, which I will try and review by mid-week.  I am reading The Forever War.  This is an astounding book, I am recommending it to several friends and will try and review it when I’m done.  I’m just not sure I know how.

What are you reading?  Have a wonderful week!  To find out about Sunday Salon go here.

10 Comments

Filed under Animals, Sunday Salon

10 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. Wow, lucky you! Tiqa is so cute! I’m happy to hear you had a great weekend, Gavin!

  2. I started Forever War a few months back, but it seemed too intense at the time. I need to check it out from the library and try it again.

  3. I have a 5th grader, and all I have to say is “God love ya”. You are a better person than I!

  4. lena

    Oh goodness! That sounds like so much fun!

  5. Lena – It was really fun and we lucked out with great weather.

  6. I’m glad you had a great week! Sleeping in the aquarium sounds like it was so much fun. I’m glad you’re back. I have Laika on my shelf and would love to hear your thoughts on it and The Forever War. Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

