Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

140006208x01_sx140_sy225_sclzzzzzzz_

Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

Random House, New York, 2008

Based in the town of Crosby, Maine, these thirteen stories are bound together by one strong, cantankerous character, Olive Kitteridge.   Beautifully written, uncluttered and honest Strout writes of the kind husband, the angry son,  neighbors with a son in prison for murder, a young man struggling with suicide.  Always, Olive is somewhere in the mix, loud and obstreperous, unforgettable and the glue that holds it all together.  The whole world is in this little town.  This is a lovely collection of stories filled with sadness and joy, filled with life.

Sometimes, like now, Olive had the sense of just how desperately hard every person in the world was working to get what they needed.  For most it was a sense of safety, in the sea of terror that life increasingly became.  People thought love would do it, and maybe it did. But even if, thinking of the smoking Anne, it took three different kids, with three different fathers, it was never enough, was it?  From page 211

Other reviews:

Caribousmom

She Is Too Fond Of Books

Shelf Life

Ready When You Are, C.B.

Regular Rumination

7 Comments

Filed under Review

7 responses to “Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

  1. I love that quote! I just checked out Olive Kitteridge yesterday. I can’t wait to read it.

  2. This has been on my list since it was on the top 10 best books of the year by EW. I will get to it eventually…

  3. This book has my attention now. Yours is the third blog review I’ve read prasing it. I need to get it.

  4. Thanks for the link to my review :) Glad to see you also enjoyed the book!

  5. I love that quote too. I’m so looking forward to reading this!

  6. Lu

    Of course I wouldn’t mind and I’ll add yours as well :) Thanks for the link!

  7. Pingback: A Love Letter to Elizabeth Strout « Regular Rumination

Leave a Reply

