Sunday Salon

TSSbadge3

Happy Mother’s Day!  An interesting article on the history of  Mother’s Day can be found here.

What a strange week it’s been.  On Monday night a storm blew through, heavy rain and wind.  Our DSL went down, it had happened before, and had been out for a few hours.  The next morning I woke up and picked up the phone.  No dial tone,  just what sounded like an open line.  My service provider is a small company that leases lines from a giant company so I had to wait for the giant company to fix things.  I spent several afternoons, home from work, waiting.  I am not good at waiting, feel frustrated and antsy, and I couldn’t really focus on anything, not even a book.  And I missed you all, all those blogs that I try and visit at least every other day.  Anyway, it’s fixed, obviously, and I very happy to have the internet back.

I try not to spend too much time here, limit myself to an hour or two in the evenings.  Try to stay off completely one or two days a week.  If I don’t I, find half the night has flown by, or half a Saturday.

An Artist's Idea of a Black Hole

An Artist's Idea of a Black Hole

It is such a black-hole, such a time-sink and can lead anywhere.  Sometimes silly, sometimes utterly fascinating.  Do you set limits?  Do you regulate your time in cyberspace?  Or do you just let go, forget the laundry, forget cleaning the bathroom, forget to eat?

As for reading I finally finished The Forever War, read American Born Chinese and have started two non-fiction books on fantasy and  Half  Of A Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.   I am seduced by her words.

She lit a cigarette,  as if she had not heard his question.  Her silences left him feeling helpless and eager to win back her attention.  He wanted to tell her about the roped pot.  He was not sure where he first read about Igbo-Ukwu art, about the native man who was digging a well and discovered the bronze castings that may well be the first in Africa, dating back to the ninth century.  But it was in Colonies Magazine that he saw the photos.  The roped pot stood out immediately; he ran a finger over the picture and ached to touch the delicately cast metal itself.  He wanted to try explaining how deeply stirred he had been by the pot but decided not to.  He would give it time.  He felt strangely comforted by this thought because he realized that what he wanted most of all, with her, was time. Page 62

Have a wonderful week!

Curious?  Find out about Sunday Salon here.

13 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

13 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. Loved Yellow Sun and I am inspired to try The Forever War again. I wasn’t in the mood to read such depressing material a few months back. Try, try again.

    • Deb – The Forever War is a tough read, give yourself permission to take breaks. Yellow Sun was a slow start for me but I’ve been drawn in.

  2. I’ve been wanting to read Half a Yellow Sun and American Born Chinese. And yes, the internet is a black hole that steals my time. My husband can attest to that. :)

  3. I know what you mean about being antsy to get the phone line working again. When our cable is out and I can’t get online, I grow really impatient. I am happy to see everything is up and working again. :-) I am still trying to find a good balance in terms of how much time to spend online, reading blogs and such. I know I devote too much time to it as it is. It’s easy to lose track of time.

    I hope you enjoy Half of a Yellow Sun!

  4. I go INSANE when my computer is out. Same effect when any of my devices don’t work…phone, iPod, etc. It is pretty pathetic to be such a slave to these things, isn’t it? I try to limit my time on here (if for no other reason than to keep my husband off my back!) but its hard. It would be nice if I were actually paid for what I do, but instead it is just an outlet for my creativity! I don’t know what I’m going to do when I go overseas for 2 1/2 weeks this June. Maybe it will be like detox, and will be good for me?

    • I think you’ll enjoy your trip! Where are you going? Great detox!
      If all goes as planned we’re going on a three week trip this summer and will have infrequent access. I’ve done that in past years but that was before I had a blog and connected with all you wonderful people.

  5. Am reading Half of the Yellow Sun next. Glad to hear you’re enjoying it. :D

  6. Sometimes I separate too easily from the grid like I did this past week. Think I could be content for short spurts without phones or computers. But would eventually miss them. Just don’t want to lose track of the rest of life while I enjoy the great book forum.

    Happy reading!

    • I know what you mean about losing track of the rest of life. I’m trying to be really conscious of my time on the computer, I think breaks are a good thing.

  7. I read Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Loved it. Started Half Of A Yellow Sun and equally impressed but I got distracted by other reads. Her writing is lovely. It has a lyrical, poetic quality.

Leave a Reply

