Sunday Salon

TSSbadge3I can not believe it is the end of May.  It happens like this every year.  We go through winter break and maybe one or two snow days, then spring sneaks up on us and suddenly it is summer!  I’ll be spending part of my summer vacation sorting, backing and moving school library books as we are reconfiguring some space.  It’s a great chance to cull books and acquire books students will actually read but it involves moving many boxes down two flights of  stairs!

I did not post much this week,  wrote a bit about Half of a Yellow Sun, and finished reading the first section of Roberto Bolano’s 2666. More on Bolano later. I tried to read The Swallows of Kabul but to put that one down.  I think I’ve read too many books about war, death and destruction over the past few weeks.  I needed a break.  So what did I pick up?  The People of the Whale by Linda Hogan, a book about war, death and destruction.  I know, that doesn’t make sense, but it is a lovely book.   From page 130:

…She’d heard that there was once a man called the Rain Priest who could take away curses or change the waters and call down the rains.  He could call water to come.  It was his gift.  He was called when the signing of the treaty caused the old drought.

This was, according to the old stories of Thinking Woman, A’atsika ancient law before god had arrived with the missionaries, before they had ever heard of Moses parting the waters.  The Rain Priest was their Moses.  He had saved them once and Ruth thinks this may be their only help.  She is uncertain, but she thinks time is an element, like air and water and stone.  It could be sailed on or dropped into or broken open.  Sometimes it is entered like a dark cave and no one returns from it.  They pass on to other places.  So why shouldn’t time still be this way?.. “

I read the second book in Ursula Le Guin’s newest series, Voices, and am about to start the third.  I hope to review them all together.  I picked up several poetry books from the library, along with Aya and Aya of Yop City by Marguerite Abouet and Important Artifacts and Personal Property from the Collection of Lenore Doolan and Harold Morris, Including Books, Street Fashion, and Jewelry by Leanne Shapton.

Aya1894937902.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_Yop1897299419.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_

They look like great fun. I also won two books  in the past two weeks and should be receiving them soon.  Thank you Claire and thank you Care!

What are you planning on reading this week?

To learn more about Sunday Salon visit this link.

Art0374175306.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_

12 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

12 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. We both have volume 1 of Aya. I didn’t know you run a library.Oh, I will be bending your ear. Going to check out your review.

    Have a good week.

    • Susan – I volunteered to organize my school library (I assist and tutor in the elementary classrooms) last fall. It is a huge job because I can only devote a few hours a week to it, but I love doing it:)

  2. The passage from The People of the Whale sounds beautiful. One more book I’m adding to my TBR list. Congratulations on winning the two books.

    Have a good week.

  3. The Aya books so so good! And I love that passage from The People of the Whale. I’m actually not sure what to read this week…normally I have my reading planned ahead, so this is new for me! I hope you have a fabulous week, Gavin.

    • Nymeth – I just wrote a little review for the Aya books, just loved them. I also joined the 4Rs challenge! That’s crazy!

  4. You’re welcome, Gavin! I really hope you enjoy the Billie Letts book, it is such a nice read, and perfect for summer, too. Also, enjoy the Aya books! And the Leanne Shapton! (I won’t be reading it until I get my own copy.) :D

  5. I spend alot of time at my kids’ school library as well. I’ve been living there the last week, as school is wrapping up. You couldn’t drag me out of there!

    I just finished my fourth installment of the Outlander series on audio (39 discs!). I DREAD writing the reviews for these. How do you summarize this much information? I’m taking a nice, long break before I start book number five, which has 47 discs.

    • Sandy – I’ve never read the Outlander books but I have a friend who LOVES them. I don’t know how you can take it all in. 47 disks?!

  6. I brought Aya home from the library this week, too! Half a Yellow Sun is on my wish list…I have to go check your post. Have a great week!

  7. You reminded me of the summer times I spent helping my school librarian sort, mend, and clean up the library. Those are really nice memories for me…so invite some special students to help you!

    I’ve been hearing lots of good things about Half a Yellow Sun…need to look that up.

Leave a Reply

