Burma Chronicles by Guy DeLisle

Burm72d6c4c9a86743c593745575551434d414f4541Burma Chronicles by Guy DeLisle

Drawn and Quarterly, Montreal, Quebec,2008

This wonderful graphic travelogue tells the story of Delisle’s trip to Burma, also know as Myanmar.  Delisle’s wife works for Medecins Sans Frontieres ( Doctors Without Borders) and she, Delisle and their son, Louis, are stationed in Burma for a year.

DeLisle uses simple black, white and gray scale drawings to tell a whimsical tale that includes some cultural and political insight into this beautiful, troubled country.  He shares his time with Louis’s playgroup and his experiences teaching an animation class.  There are also stories of his travels into the countryside with the MSF team.  I loved the simple storytelling style and the clear, clean images.

This is DeLisle’s third book after Shenzhen: A Travelogue from China and Pyongyang: A Journey in North Korea.  I intend to read both of them as soon as I can get them from my library!


4 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Graphic Novel Challenge, Graphic Novels, Review

4 responses to “Burma Chronicles by Guy DeLisle

  1. This sounds wonderful! I’ve really enjoyed a lot of the graphic novel memoirs I’ve read in the past, and I really don’t know anything at all about Burma.

  2. I had never heard of these books before but I want to read them now! Adding them to the wishlist.. (I hope our library has them).

  3. PS. I have been to Shenzhen and Pyongyang both, so these would be really wonderful.

  4. Pingback: Sunday Salon – A Rating System? « Page247

Leave a Reply

