Sunday Salon – Best Books So Far

TSSbadge3

Find out all about Sunday Salon here.

Last week Nymeth at things mean a lot wrote about her favorite books of the year so far.  I’ve decided to steal that idea and make a list of my favorites from the last six months.   It is obvious I don’t stick to one genre but I was surprised by the mix.  I will be adding Roberto Bolano’s 2666 to this list when I finished the Read-Along.

* * * * *

Picture Books

The Black Book of Color by Menena Cottin

The House at Night by Sue Marie Swanson

The Winter Trees by Carole Gerber

Young Adult

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Part Two by M.T. Anderson

The Graveyard Book By Neil Gaiman

Monkey Beach by Eden Robinson

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Graphic Novels

Laika by Nick Abadzie

Aya and Aya of Yop City by Marguerite Abouet

Adult Fiction

Steer Towards Rock by Fae Myenne Ng

To Siberia by Per Petterson

Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

Someone Knows My Name by Lawrence Hill

Half of a Yellow Sun Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh

Nonfiction

The Forever War by Dexter Filkins

Finding Beauty in a Broken World by Terry Tempest Williams

Remarkable Creatures by Sean B. Carroll

Poetry

The First Four Books of Poems – Louise Gluck

Flight:New and Selected Poems – Linda Bierds

As you can see, this is a wild mix of books.  Have you read any of them?  What did you think?

Several books on this list were suggested by Nymeth at thing mean a lot and Vasilly at 1330v. Thanks to both of you.


19 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

19 responses to “Sunday Salon – Best Books So Far

  1. What a wonderfully diverse list! Inspired by Nymeth and others, I posted some midyear favorites today, too. Olive Kitteridge is on it. I really want to read Half a Yellow Sun.

  2. lena

    I’ve been meaning to read Graceling for a while now. I keep seeing such great reviews for it!

    I’m excited to see what your final list for the year looks like, Gavin :)

    • Lena – Don’t know what the final list will look like but I’m expecting it to be very diverse. I bet you will love Graceling.

  3. I’ve read 6 books from your list the past 6 months, too! That’s a good number of overlaps. :)

  4. Basically, everything on your list I haven’t read is something I want to read. Here’s to another great six months of reading!

  5. Pam

    This is a great idea. I need to sit down and do the same. I read so much that I tend to forget what I’ve read, month to month. It’s nice to sit down and reflect on what I’ve recently (or not so recently) read. Olive Kitteridge is one of my favorites from this year. I’ve been recommending it to anyone who will listen!

    • Pam, I have to list my books right away or I forget them! Have you discovered goodreads.com? It is a great place for making lists.

  6. I’m so sad. The only things I’ve read is your children’s books list. I totally agree. I’ve been thinking about re-reading The Black Book of Colors.

    • I love the fact that you review picture book! Your reviews give me great ideas about what to check out from the library. Have a great week.

  7. Eva

    I love seeing your list! I’ve read about half the books you mention, so of course now I want to read the other half. :D

  8. I checked out Forever War earlier in the year and then turned it back in after reading only a bit. I wasn’t in the mood for a book so depressing. I need to try it again.

  9. Looks like I’m not the only one stealing from Nymeth for today’s Sunday Salon, eh? Great list. There are TONS on here that I want to read.

  10. That is a great mix of books. I have the Olive Kitteridge book waiting for me. I keep hearing so many good things about it.

Leave a Reply

