Sunday Salon

TSSbadge3

What is the Sunday Salon? Imagine some university library’s vast reading room. It’s filled with people–students and faculty and strangers who’ve wandered in.

* * * * * * * * * *

It really doesn’t feel like I’ve been back from our trip for a week.

Tuesday was a low tide day at the beach so I spent several hours helping people find interesting animals to look at, talking about the health of the beach and avoiding  a very large Lion’s Mane jellyfish.  Even dead those things can still sting!

imagesWe also spent time keeping people away from a very young Harbor Seal pup that Mom had left on the sand while she went fishing!  We finally called the wonderful folks at PAWS who sent out someone from the Marine Mammal Stranding Network.  The voluteer come out and set up a 100 foot perimeter around the pup and waited for the mother to return.  If the mother seal senses any intruder or disruption she may abandon the pup, so it is important to keep people and dogs away.

I joined a new challenge this week.  This one is extremely important for me personally.  The Color Me Brown Book Challenge is organized by Susan of Color Online and Black-eyed Susan.  I challenge you to visit her blog and join in.

As for reading this week I finished several books, including Nation by Terry Pratchett and Lavinia by Ursula K. Le Guin and in intense German mystery,  The Sinner.   I started reading Kindred by Octavia Butler and This Earth of Mankind by Pramoedya Ananta Toer.  I have been meaning to read The Buru Quartet for a long time.

Looking straight at me Mr. Mellema, dragging his feet, walked towards me.  Towards me.  He stopped in front of me.  His eyebrows where bushy, almost white, and his face was frozen like chalk.  For a moment my eyes fell to his shoes, which were dusty, unlaced.  Then I remembered what my teachers had taught me: Look those who want to talk to you in the eyes.  Quickly, I lifted my eyes and offered my greetings:

“Good evening, Mr. Mellema,” in Dutch and in a quite polite tone.

He growled like a cat.  His rumpled clothes were loose on his body.  His hair, uncombed and thin, covered his forehead and ears.

“Who gave you permission to come here, monkey!”  He hissed his sentence in bazaar Malay, awkwardly and, in accord with its contents, crudely.  From page 47 of  This Earth Of Mankind.

According to the weather forcasters it is going to be unusually hot in the Pacific Northwest this week.  I am hoping to spend some time in an air-conditioned movie theater seeing Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince and late afternoons sitting in front of the fan, sipping iced tea and reading.  Have a wonderful Sunday!

13 Comments

Filed under Animals, Sunday Salon

13 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. It’s been very hot here along the Texas Gulf Coast. They say that heat keeps the hurricanes away, though. So, heat or hurricanes? Easy choice.

  2. I”m sort of unofficially participating in the Color Me Brown Challenge. I have so much going on in August with getting my kids back to school and now getting me back to school, plus I’m going to start volunteering at the library, that I have no idea what I’ll get around to reading.

    • I’ve got 2 books planned for the Color Me Brown challenge. I thinks it fine whenever you get to reading any books for this one.

  3. You are my hero, and also the pup’s hero! The world could use more animal lovers like you. Thanks for sharing that story! Have fun watching the HBP…we loved it.

    • I just love introducing people to the animals that live around them! HP later this week, when it’s really hot! Air conditioning!

  4. Love the new banner photo, and appreciate your animal-loving efforts. Enjoy that reading week ahead of you. Btw, can you email me your mailing address? You are one of the winner in The Unit giveaway. Congrats!

  5. You do such good work at the beach, Gavin. The Color Me Brown Challenge sounds so good! I wish I could but I know I shouldn’t. I’m already in over my head. I hope you have a great week and are able to stay cool. It’s been pretty warm down where I am too.

    • I love being on the beach! I’ve taken on way too many challenges but I’ll do my best. Being as it’s the first year for my blog I have an excuse, it’s all just too exciting! You stay cool, too.

  6. Oh, the baby seal is just adorable.

  7. I hope you’re staying cool this week! the pup is so cute but yeah, you have to be so respectful of them. hope it was okay!

Leave a Reply

