The Color of Earth by Kim Dong Hwa

col1596434589.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_The Color of Earth by Kim Dong Hwa

Translated from the Korean by Lauren Na

First Second, New York & London 2009

What a wonderful graphic novel!  Again, First Second has published art in book form.   The first of three in a series, I may just have to break my no-new-books vow and get the whole set.

The Color of Earth tells of the daily lives and the world of two generations of Korean women. Sometime in the past, in a quiet rural village of Namwon, Ehwa lives with her mother, a widowed tavern keeper. They are best friends and tell each other many secrets.  The story is filled with flowers and rain.  In beautiful black and white drawings and poetic language we watch Ehwa growing up.  As each spring passes she learns about her changing body and begins to learn about life.   As Ehwa grows, her mother, left alone at young age, rediscovers love.

The artist, Kim Dong Hwa is famous in Korean for creating sunjung, comics for young girls, known as shojo in Japan.  The Color of Earth is something completely new, a sunjung style manhwa (manga in Japan), enjoying great success with an adult audience, both men and women.  It is a beautiful book that tells a wonderful story.  I can not wait to read the next part, The Color of Water.water1596434597.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_

9 Comments

Filed under Graphic Novel Challenge, Graphic Novels, Review

9 responses to “The Color of Earth by Kim Dong Hwa

  1. I’m reading this, too. I am really enjoying it. It’s one of the books I’ve been reading slowly. I love the art and the story. Everytime I open the book I am impressed with the beauty of it. I think that’s contributing why it’s taking me so long to finish it.

    Thanks for the post.

    • Susan – One of the reasons I want to purchase The Color of Earth series is so that I can have the pleasure of returning to it whenever I want to. It is a beautiful book.

  2. Adding these to the wish list, Gavin.. they sound so good.

  3. I am accumulating a list of graphic novels to use the next time a challenge comes around. I will admit I’ve not read ONE graphic novel to date, but I do intend to remedy this! I will add this one. It sounds like it would be worthy!

  4. I’ve been meaning to read this! Even more so now after your review. I’m quickly becoming a big fan of First Second. They publish amazing stuff.

  5. Nymeth – I agree, First Second is doing a fabulous job publishing graphic novels. So is Drawn & Quarterly. I think you will really like The Color of Earth.

  6. Lu

    Just finished The Color of Earth and it was absolutely beautiful! I can’t get over it. I want to go out and buy the whole set right now :)

Leave a Reply

