Sunday Salon

TSSbadge3

What is the Sunday Salon? Imagine some university library’s vast reading room. It’s filled with people–students and faculty and strangers who’ve wandered in. They’re seated at great oaken desks, books piled all around them, and they’re all feverishly reading and jotting notes in their leather-bound journals as they go…

I have several reviews to write and many great books from the library to  read,  but it is a beautiful day and I am going to take advantage of it by visiting our local farmer’s market and then taking the dog for a long walk.

Over the past few weeks book bloggers have been sharing where they get their books.  I think this meme came about because of  questions about honesty and integrity in book reviews.  Are  people being honest when review ARCs or books sent by publishers?  I’m not sure where this discussion has gone but  I became curious about where the books I choose to review come from.  So, the last 20 review books…

The Philosopher and the Wolf – Library

Yellowknife – Bought from the publisher

This Earth of Mankind – Library

Kindred – Bought used from Godfather’s Books in Astoria, OR.

Robot Dreams – Library

2666 – Received as a gift.

Locomotion – Library

What I Was – Library

The Color of Earth – Library

Lavina – Bought at Canyon Way Books in Newport, OR.

Nation – Library

White Rapids – Library

Ishmael – Library

Remarkable Creatures – Library

Graceling – Library

This Blinding Absence of Light – Library

Flight – Library

The Veiled Suite – Library

Monkey Beach – Library

Burma Chronicles – Library

Library – 16 books/80%

Bought – 3 books/15%

Gift – 1 book/5%

Thank goodness for the Seattle Public Library.  I would be lost without them!  I read many books that I don’t review, mostly mysteries, and those all come from the library unless we’ve been to one of our wonderful independent bookstores.  I have recieved a couple of books as give-aways from other bloggers but have not read them yet.  I have just stared requesting early review books from LibraryThing and Goodreads.  If I receive them it will be interesting to see how I review them.  Wher do you get your books?

I’m off  to find peaches and blueberries!  Have a wonderful week.

10 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

10 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. Mine seem to be evenly divided between library and purchased. I don’t receive ARCs. Enjoy your time outside today!

    • JoAnn – Thanks, it was a beautiful day yesterday! I promised myself last year that I would stop buying new books and only buy used books. I’ve been pretty good at keeping that promise. I love my library!

  2. I’ve got a little of everything in my house…an ARC now and again, lots of library loot, some purchases, and things I’ve won from other blogs. I don’t ever feel the least bit obligated to post an overly positive review of an ARC. That would be a total sell-out, and would be lying to everyone that trusts my word! I’ll probably end up signing that blogging with integrity thing, but we should hope that the people that read our blogs already know that!

    • Sandy – I’ve just won a couple of give-aways that are coming from publishers. It will be interesting to see how I review them. I may sign the integrity pledge, but your right, all the blogs I visit are very upfront about where they get their books! Have a great week.

  3. Are you going to come down for the book blogger retreat in Portland this coming weekend!?!? Oh that would be fun!

    I bet the Seattle Library is incredible. I love our library here, it has SO much for me to enjoy.

    Happy reading, and happy Sunday Salon!

    • bethany – I screwed up and made plans in Seattle for next week end. Why do I keep a calendar when I don’t even look at it?!! I’d love to join the next one, or maybe somebody in Seattle who has the energy could organize one here and we could visit Elliot Bay Books. Have a great week and be sure to blog about the retreat!

  4. I think I’ve got just about a three way split between library, bought and ARC’s at this point. Maybe just 20% ARC’s lately. I’m a little behind on reviewing them at this point.

    I’ve started listing the ARC’s at the bottom of their reviews. While I certainly don’t deliberately give them better reviews than they deserve, I have to admit that many of them would never have made it to my TBR pile if they weren’t free.

    • cb – I’ve just won a couple of give-aways that are coming from publishing houses. They sounded interesting and now I feel obligated to read them. I am curious to see how I review them if I don’t like them.

      I don’t think I could read an ARC that wouldn’t make my TBR pile, there are just too many good books out there! I also want to get back into reading short stories. Have a great week.

  5. I think my list would be an 80/20 split for library/bought. I’m with you, where would I be without my public library?!

  6. Michelle – Thanks for your comment! My library is a life saver. There is no way I could afford to buy all the books I want to read. Have a good reading week!

Leave a Reply

