Sunday Salon

TSSbadge3 Happy SundaySalon to you all.   School starts this week, with meetings and planning and new software for the library computer – wish me luck with that bit!

I realize that over the summer I’ve spent lots more time reading favorite blogs and visiting new ones and now will have less time to spend on the computer.   I am going to have to come up with a plan for “computer time”  and not get so lost in wandering through the internet.  I found the computer was cutting into my reading time.

The Historian

8d781baDEA114d286f59394f4b5251434d414f4541

I got some lovely books from the library for the R.I.P. IV Challenge including Mistress of the Art of Death by Ariana Franklin and The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova and have made a special pile of books that I own for it as well.  I am really looking forward to this one!

I took my gift certificate to Elliot Bay Book Company and found two graphic novels to add to my growing collection. col1596434589.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_ I have reviewed The Color of Earth and will review The Color of Water soon.  I love these for the story and the art.  What do you think of graphic novels?

water1596434597.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_ I want to give a special welcome to any new visitors and suggest you join Sunday Salon, find out all about it here.  It is a wonderful way to stay in touch.

12 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

12 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. I definitely find it challenging to balance reading, reading/commenting on blogs, and all the other things I need/want to do in my life. I’ve realized that I simply can’t keep up with a large number of blogs, so I tend to subscribe to a select few I really enjoy and then read others only occasionally via links, etc. In order to find which ones I like I subscribe for awhile and see if I enjoy it enough to stay subscribed. Of course, the danger there is that I will just keep finding ones I enjoy that much and eventually get overwhelmed… I have noticed, however, that I go through cycles as well; there may be one I enjoy for awhile and then eventually realize I am reading it less and less. Basically, the key for me was becoming more aware of when something was really doing something for me and when I was reading something just because it was there. Anyway, good luck with finding the right balance!

    I have never read a graphic novel, but from your review of The Color of Earth it sounds like it might be a good one to start with. I have to admit I am a little nervous about them. I am not sure if it sounds like something I would like. I guess I won’t know until I try it :)

    • I find myself going back to several blogs I really enjoy reading. I often have to add books to my TBR list because of reviews I read!

      The Color of Earth is a wonderful graphic novel. Find reviews by visiting this site.

  2. It seems a lot of book bloggers – or at least a lot of the ones I know – are teachers or in some way related to a school-year schedule. Good luck with the adjustment. I know that’s rough.

  3. It’s easy to lose track of time while blog hopping, isn’t it? I’ve been away for awhile and now I feel like I deserve a little blog time though–catching up with everyone has been good for the soul. :-) Still, I told myself this time that I can’t let it keep me away from my books. It’s always a struggle to find that right balance.

    Enjoy your new books! I hope you will like The Historian. I know not everyone does–but I really did.

    Have a great week!

    • Glad you are back! I really enjoyed my time away from the computer this summer and vowed to limit my time online but I also want to stay in touch with all the great people I’ve met, and I really enjoy writing about books I love.

  4. I may have to join the RIP challenge, too, even though I promised myself not to join any more. Love the covers of the two graphic novels above! Read my first graphic novels last spring and found them to be a nice change of pace. I especially liked Ethel & Ernest by Raymond Briggs (author of The Snowman). Good luck with the new school year!

    • Thanks for your comment! I’ve been waiting for R.I.P. since I first heard about it. I read mysteries for fun! Color of Earth is a wonderful graphic novel, I think you’d enjoy it. Thanks for mentioning Ethel & Ernest, it looks lovely! Have a great week.

  5. justicejenniferreads

    I’m so excited for the RIP challenge as well. I haven’t gone out to get any books yet, but now that I think about it I should get started. September is basically here already!

    And I absolutely agree with you about computer time. I usually to my blog reading when I’m at work and things are slow, but once school is back in session, slow time greatly diminishes. Not sure yet how I’ll handle this, but I’m sure I’ll work something out!

    • It’s hard to manage time once school is back in session. I want to visit all my favorite blogs and am sad when I can’t.

      R.I.P. just sounds like so much fun, glad you are joining in.

  6. although books like the Historian are not “my thing”.. I read that one last year for RIP and really enjoyed it! I hope you do too!

  7. I will definitely review The Historian when I read it. I’ve already finished one book, The Mistress of the Art of Death, and loved it! Have a great week with the birds and Booboo.

Leave a Reply

