Book Bloggers Appreciation Week – Some Of My Favorite Blogs

2009bbawcelebrateThis is my first year writing a blog and my first year being part of BBAW.  I find it an interesting and inspiring event.  So many people put so much time and energy into their blogs. They are labors of love.

There are wonderful blogs on the short lists, some I am familiar with and some that are new to me.   Reading  the lists has me thinking about what I like about the blogs I find myself returning to again and again.  Most of them defy categorization, they are eclectic, intelligent, intriguing and fun.  Some are genre focused, some include books and other things,  and I think all of them are vital parts of the book blogging community.

 First I have to mention Claire at kiss a cloud.  Claire was one of the first people to leave me a comment and I have been following her blog every since.  I love her choice of books and usually end up adding one or two titles to my ever growing to-be-read list when I visit.  She, along with Steph at Steph & Tony Investigate, organized the amazing 2666/Roberto Bolano read-along.

Care at Care’s Online Book Club was another initial commenter.  She reads and reviews a great mix of books and sent me my first give-away, Popular Music from Vittula.  I have it on my TBR stack but have been overwhelmed with library books and challenges.   Care, I will read it soon, really, I promise.

Then there is Word Lily, whose tagline reads “For the love of language”.  I couldn’t agree more.  It’s why I read.  I love what words do, the pictures they paint, the places they take me.  About once a week or so Word Lily posts a list of  words from her current read, along with their definitions.  I love this, I always learn something new.

Emily at Evening all Afternoon reads and reviews many of the classics that I  never find time for, as well as poetry and literary criticism.  Her blog is beautiful.  I love the blackbirds. 

Nicki at Fyrefly‘s Book Blog writes great reviews, mostly covering fantasy and young adult books.  She does something I’ve not seen anywhere else.  At the end of each month she posts a wrap-up of books and lists every blogger who has left a comment for her.  I find this very kind and considerate.

I also have to mention several blogs with special interests:

 Masha is a South African artist and storyteller who often posts pictures from and reviews of story books.  She also reviews fantasy and speculative fiction. I am alway drawn into the beautiful artwork and love visiting her blog.

Lately, when I need to escape and really want something to draw me in,  often to the point of staying up all night to finish a book,  I turn to mysteries and crime fiction.  There are many mystery/crime fiction blogs that I visit regularly.  I am just going to mention two of them.

Peter Rozovsky calls Detectives Beyond Borders a forum for international crime fiction. He reads and reviews a wide selection of books.  I try to stay away but I can’t help myself. 

Mysteries in Paradise is an Australian blog.  Kerrie, the blog keeper, writes reviews, writes posts on blogging, runs give-aways, posts many many news links and must be blogging 36 hours a day.  I don’t know how she does it.

Detectives and Mysteries and several other great mystery/crime fiction blogs have forced me to create a separate to-be-read list for mysteries and crime fiction.  I love you guys, I really do.

I could keep going adding more and more blogs to my list.  I think I will create a weekly post highlighting one of the many, many blogs I try and visit at least once a week.  I try and leave comments when I can.

I also want to say mention the bloggers who take time to visit Page247.  When I started this blog I really didn’t know what I was doing.  Now, at least,  I feel like I have an idea.  That is mainly due to the comments people have left here. Thank you all. I really appreciate it.

25 Comments

Filed under BBAW

25 responses to “Book Bloggers Appreciation Week – Some Of My Favorite Blogs

  1. I absolutely love all the love that’s going out today for BBAW!

  2. bluestockingbb

    I’ll have to check these out. Here is mine

  3. Thanks for the mystery recommendations. I’ve been trying to branch into reading that genre more!

  4. Great list.

    Thanks for having me on your list! Glad you enjoy the words posts.

  5. That is a great list Gavin! You are one of the most unique bloggers on my roll with regards to amazing books I would never pick up in a million years. You have open my eyes on a frequent basis!

  6. Wow, thanks so much for mentioning my blog, especially in such great company!

    I do the commenter appreciation posts because while I’d probably keep blogging even if I weren’t getting comments, the interaction with fellow bibliophiles is what makes this hobby so much fun… and since I don’t have a blogroll-proper, it’s just my way of throwing a little bit of love back to the people who took enough time to not only read my ramblings, but also say something about them. :)

    • Fyrefly – I love your blog and you’ve given me lots of great ideas of book to add to my TBR list. I agree, the interaction with others makes blogging fun and interesting.

  7. Gavin, I’m so glad you’ve been enjoying the 2666 read-along. I always look forward to your posts, because I love how you combine both more analytical discussion with your personal responses.

  8. glad to find your blog and glad you stopped by mine. i’ll be watching… :)

  9. You, me, and Emily (Evening All Afternoon) have all given the shout-out to Claire! What a shame she didn’t get the short list! I love the layout of Emily’s blog too.

    I wonder who will win Best Writing – Frances (Nonsuch Book) or Richard (Caravana de recuerdos)? Has to be one of them.

    • E.L. Fay – If I could choose the Best Writing award I would make it a tie. Frances and Richard both have so much to offer all of us!

      Claire is a very special, kind and considerate. She is a winner in my mind.

  10. A lovely post, Gavin. More blogs I’d like to visit.

    Thanks for what you contribute and that is plenty.

    • Susan – You have contributed so much to this community in recent months just by calling us on our stuff. It has been amazing, watching the response. Thanks for what you do.

  11. I have to go find kiss a cloud now, so many people have mentioned this blog I have not heard of yet!

    You leave such insightful comments, Gavin. I always look forward to hearing what you have to write about. I’m glad you have enjoyed your first year blogging so much!

    • Susan – Did you find kiss a cloud? Claire is a very special blogger. Thanks for your kind comments. Blogging is great fun except for all the damn books I keep adding to my reading list! I’ll never read them all…

      I’m sure you’ll enjoy Detectives without Borders. Peter is another bad blogger, always coming up with books I want to read.

  12. ps I really thank you for that mystery blog Detectives Without Borders; kerrie I already visit regularly (except I can’t keep up with how many mysteries she reads! lol) and I’m always looking for new international mysteries to read….

  13. Aw, thanks so much for the mention, Gavin! I totally love stopping by Page 247 as well – you were one of the first blogs I added to my reader back in the day. :-)

Leave a Reply

