BBAW – The Present and The Future

2009bbawcelebrate

What do I think about my blog?

I love  that my blog and my writing have matured over time, I am pleased with the results.  I am developing my own style of reviews and manage to write reviews for most of the books that I read. I like the way Page247 looks, clean and uncluttered, and I hope it is easy to navigate.

I love developing relationships with other book bloggers and the intense discussions that develop over different topics, some timely and important, some just plain fun.

And the future? 

I want my writing to be honest, clear and concise.  I want to finish my challenges.  I need to make a decision about a “rating system”, keep my blog links up to date and some how manage my Google Reader so it doesn’t threaten to explode!

BBAW has been an amazing week.  Bravo to Amy and all the volunteers who worked their backsides off to get it all done.  There has not been enough time to visit all the new blogs I have discovered, but I plan to do that over the next few week.  Thanks to all who have stopped by and left comments.  I hope you visit again!

21 Comments

Filed under BBAW

21 responses to “BBAW – The Present and The Future

  1. Whats great about blogging is that I get to practise on my writing skills, what little I have that is. I don’t have a clear rating system as well, maybe I should look into that for an improvement too. Thanks for sharing.

    Ps- Yayy to BBAW! I think they did a great job too :)

  2. Gavin,

    Your site is easy to navigate and I appreciate that. I’m always struggling to keep Color Online streamlined and easy to navigate. Less is very appealing.

    Appreciate your goals, too. I didn’t write about my personal goals (something I’ve realize I have been neglecting). I, too, want to improve my writing. I want to be clear, confident in what I write.

    I am so glad you’re happy. Everytime I come here it’s a good time.

    • Susan –
      Thank you so much for your kind words. I love that I discovered Color Online this year. You are doing very important work.

  3. I can relate to a clean look of the blog. I too like my blog that way and I am happy where I am.

    BBAW: Do I drop from the sky or touch it?

  4. Gavin,

    Your site is very nice. Easy on the eyes.

  5. You have a fantastic blog, Gavin. Keep doing what you do!

  6. I love your blog for so many reasons…your selection of books, your concise writing, and your uncluttered design, just to name a few. Hasn’t BBAW just been crazy? The day I interviewed Nymeth, I had more visitors than I ever have by a huge margin. I wish it could continue!!! Keep up the awesome work Gavin!

  7. I’m with you on wanting to keep the Google Reader down. Blog posts are like rabbits; leave them alone for a little while and they multiply like crazy!

  8. You really do have a great blog here, Gavin. The quality of your writing was one of the first things that drew me to Page 247, along with the eclectic mix of books you review. You’re doing a great job!

  9. I had a hard time visiting all my favorites this week, Gavin, but I wanted to swing by and thank you for running such a cool blog and for posting all the extra entries this week. Very interesting! I also think your first stated goal (“I want my writing to be honest, clear and concise”) is something we should all keep in mind for the year ahead–great advice!

    • Richard – I agree, it has been impossible to visit everyone this week. I am going to spend the next few weeks visiting and commenting on all the great blogs I have discovered. Thanks for your wonderful comments.

  10. I can relate to the finishing challenges, although for me it doesn’t help I sign up for more challenges then humanly possible to finish…. but its beside the point. I also get the Google reader threatening to explode (it doesn’t help when I look through it I keep posts that I want to read and leave them for later, then forget :) – I’m glad I’m not the only one who has this “problem” with their google reader.

  11. Jules – Oh, yeah, I signed up for way more challenges than I can possible complete. I’ve decided that my first year is for figuring out the ones I will actually finish.

    And the darned Google Reader, the post few days I just kept adding new blogs! Now I have to go through them all!

  12. Thanks to BBAW I have discovered your blog as well. It is wonderful. I really like your uncluttered design – will have to take some inspiration from your blog! From what I’ve read of your writing so far, you’re pretty good at “honest, clear and concise” already. :)

  13. Hmmm, good luck with Google Reader. I’m surprised it hasn’t revolted this week. ;-)

Leave a Reply

