French Milk by Lucy Knisley

1416575340_01__SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_French Milkby Lucy Knisley

Touchstone Books,  New York, 2007

A delightful graphic travelogue/memoir containing cartoons, sketches and photographs.  It describes Lucy Knisley and her Mom’s month-long visit to Paris in January of 2007.

As you might expect lots of pages are taken up with restaurants and food but there are also lovely street scenes, images from museums, memories of shopping and times when Knisley questions everything she is doing and worried about her future. 

Knisley draws with grace  and clarity, in simple pen and ink.  You can see the influences she most favors, The Adventures of  Tin Tin by Herge, American cartoons and old style advertising.  The drawings blend well with the photos and it is fun to see Knisley and her Mom juxtaposed with sketches of shops and plates of oysters!  I loved this little gem and recommend for people new to the graphic genre.

Lucy Knisley has a website featuring her work.  Thanks to Nymeth for introducing me to this artist.

Other reviews:

Beth Fish Reads

Jenny’s Books

Pop Culture Junkie

17 Comments

Filed under Graphic Novel Challenge, Graphic Novels, Review

17 responses to “French Milk by Lucy Knisley

  1. lena

    I saw this over at Jenny’s Books and loved loved loved the idea of it. I’m glad you’ve added your name to the raving reviews list. I keep hoping a copy of it will magically appear before me so that I can read it. I love travel books!

  2. I saw this at Nymeth’s and Beth’s, and it grabbed me. I have started a nice list of graphic novels (some of them came from you!) that I will use the next time a GN challenge comes along!

  3. Having lived in France for a short time 10 years ago, I’d really love to read this.

  4. So glad you enjoyed it too. This is definitely a great book to start in with graphics.

    • Beth F. – I’m keeping a list of fun and beautiful graphic novels/memoirs to suggest to people who are squimish about the genre. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. This had been on my radar for ages (I think I mentioned it when trying to compile a list of comics by women if I’m not mistaken), but I still haven’t read it myself! I really must, though. I’m glad you enjoyed it so much!

    • Nymeth – You haven’t read French Milk yet? I know I saw it mentioned on things mean a lot. Maybe I dreamed you reviewed it:)

  6. I can’t decide whether to go for it or not – I don’t like graphic novels *at all* (I find it impossible to read pictures) but this sounds really interesting. I’m torn.

  7. It’s a cute little trifle, isn’t it? :-) I enjoyed it and agree it’s great for newbies to the genre.

  8. softdrink

    I’m almost afraid to read this one for fear I’ll want to move to Paris.

  9. Pingback: Readathon Reviews Part II « The Zen Leaf

Leave a Reply

