Sunday Salon – Challenge Check-in

TSSbadge3

Happy Sunday!  It is October, and for those of us in the northern hemisphere the year has turned towards winter.  I love autumn.   I remember walking to school through piles of yellow, red and golden leaves and the sound they make crunching underfoot.  I remember my Pops raking the yard and trimming the trees and making a great big burn pile.  The smell of the smoke, the flight of the embers in a brisk wind.  Do people still burn leaf piles?

ph03642i

It has been almost a year since I started my blog.  I had no idea what I was doing at the time or even why I was doing it except that I had a vague though of sharing my love of reading with others.  I have learned so much from so many wonderful people.  Thank you all.

I thought I would visit my challenges this week and see how far I’ve gotten.  Being a new blogger this year I jumped on every challenge that looked exciting, only to find there was no way I could complete all fo them.  I’ve dropped a few and learned which ones I remained excited about.  I’m happy with my results so far.

Completed:

Graphic Novel Challenge – 12 of 12 – This one was great fun and I discovered some brilliant authors and artists.

Lost In Translation – 6 books –  I’m still adding to this challenge.  I loved this one.  I read books in translation anyway but LOT  expanded my comfort zone.  I will do this one next year

Once Upon A Time III – 4 books and short stories – This was fabulous!  Thank you Carl V. at Stainless Steel Dropping for being such a wonderful, generous host.

R.I.P. IV – 4 books and short stories – Another fabulous, creepy challenge hosted by Carl. V.  There are over 400 links at the review site and we have all of October to go!  I have a couple more books to add to this one.

Science  Books 2009 – 3 books – I will keep adding to this one.  I’m reading Freeman Dyson’s Infinite In All Directions right now and loving it. I read science books for fun!

War Through The Generations – 5 books – A great challenge.  I’ve learned many new things about World War II.

Still Reading:

Canadian Book Challenge – 3 of 13 – Ends July 1, 2001.  Organized by John Mumford of  Yellowknife, NWT.  I love Canadian authors and would read them anyway.

Orbis Terrarum –  8 of 10 books – Ends December 31, 2009.  Another favorite, reading my way around the planet!  This challenge is organized by Bethany at Dreadlock Girl Reads.  If she does it again next year I will be joining in.

VPR Poetry Challenge – 2 of 15 books –  Ends May 16, 2010. Organized by Lu at Regular Rumination. I usually read poetry but all the other challenges have pushed this one off my radar.  I’ll fix that.

Random Reading Challenge – 2 of 9 books – This one is organized by Wendy at Caribousmom.

What An Animal II – 5 of 6 books – Ends February 28, 2010 – I couldn’t resist this one!

World Citizen 2009 – 4 of 5 books – Ends December 31, 2009 – This was the first challenge I joined but I got side-tracked.  I think a couple of the books I chose were too dry.  Not sure if I’ll join next time.

When I first started joining challenges I found myself feeling pressured to read certain books.  Not fun. I’ve learned to let go and have dropped a couple of challenges that didn’t hold my interest.  Next year I will have a much better idea of which challenges I can handle!  What about you?  Are you happy with you challenges or stressed over deadlines?

18 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

18 responses to “Sunday Salon – Challenge Check-in

  1. Gavin: I love the fall too…and yes, we burn leaf piles here, but not until we are out of fire season (after the first big rain usually). It is hard for me to believe your blog is not even a year old yet! It seems like you have been around longer than that :) You look like you are doing great with the challenges!!! Way to go. Have a great week :)

    • Wendy – I remember driving through Napa Valley when the vintners were burning old vines. That was an amazing site.

      Time is weird! It feels like I’ve been doing this much longer than a year. Thanks for your comments. That picture of Raven is so cute!

  2. I LOVE the fall weather, at least in the midwest where I’m from. We really don’t have much of a fall in Florida. It goes from hot to warm, and that is about it. No falling leaves unfortunately, and I miss it.

    You signed up for ALOT of challenges! Wow! Being a new blogger, I very gingerly tip-toed into them. I hate to not accomplish goals, so I was very careful. I finish a few, I add a few.

    I think I’m going to do my first Sunday Salon today. I ran out of top 10 lists to do, so what else, eh?

    • When I lived in So. California I had a really hard time adjusting to the lack of seasons. It’s one of the reasons I had to move north. I can’t imagine what Florida is like.

      I’m so glad you joined Sunday Salon, I find it a great way to check in with folks. Have a great week!

  3. I’ve also signed up for a LOT of challenges, being new to blogging this year. But found that I miss reading on a whim as I used to. I also miss reading consecutively a single author’s works right after I’ve read something I liked by that writer. So next year I won’t be joining any challenges at all, only shared reads. I did enjoy a lot of the challenges this year as well, but some of them not so.

    • I also missed reading on a whim. I will only the challenges I really enjoyed and that gave me lots of freedom choosing books. Oh, and shared reads, reading 2666 with folks was just fantastic.

  4. I love fall, too. Only wish it would arrive here in Texas. Perpetual summer.

    Lots of challenges. And lots of success. Cheers to you.

  5. That’s a lot of challenges! I’m a self-proclaimed challenge wuss, myself; I only sign up if I’m 98% sure I’ll be able to complete the requirements. I tend to gravitate towards really loose challenges, too. Anything that allows me to shift things around is awesome. :)

    My big challenges right now are the 999 Challenge and R.I.P. IV. I’ve already technically completed the latter, but I’m still going to try for some more creepy reads throughout October. It’s touch and go whether I’ll finish 999; I’ve completed many of my chosen categories, but the ones I have left are all toughies. I’m trying to make it a priority over the next couple of months, though, so I’m optimistic.

    • Yeah, I just kept joining when I saw challenges that looked like fun! Next year I’ll have a better idea of what I can handle.

  6. Gavin,

    Last year I belonged to a forum that posted a different theme or genre each month and I enjoyed it. I participated in a few others, too. This year I participated in few challenges. I miss participating but I had too much going on. In 2010, I will join some new challenges. All wasn’t lost; the time off afforded me the opportunity to see what others were doing so I have an idea of which ones I’ll choose.

    Thanks,

    • Susan – The forum idea sounds like fun. I now have a much better idea of what challenges I will join next year. Have a great week.

  7. You’re doing a great job with those challenges!

  8. I remember walking through the fall leaves too. And jumping into a newly raked pile. I don’t think I’d be so tempted to do that as an adult, but it sure was fun when I was a child. :-)

    The time creeps up on us doesn’t it? Of when we started blogging. I can’t believe I’ve been at it just over three years no. It looks like you are making great progress with your challenges, Gavin! I let several of the challenges I was in go last month, deciding I needed to ease up on myself. I do enjoy participating in the challenges though.

    I hope you have a great week, Gavin!

    • Like you I let several challenges go. I wasn’t excited about them and felt pressured to read books I wasn’t enjoying. Live and learn!

  9. Fall is my favorite season, too. I started my blog almost a year ago, and overdid it with challenges. They won’t all get completed this year, but I’ll be more careful about joining next year. Hope you have a great week!

Leave a Reply

