Sunday Salon – A Read-a-Thon Book Pile

TSSbadge3

Happy Sunday Salon.  It has been a slow reading week for me.  I think I’m fighting off the cold that is working its way through school.  I did finish The Book of Secrets by M.G. Vassanji and should have a review up today or tomorrow.

deweys-readathonbuttonNext Saturday, October 24th,  is Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon, and even though I have a workshop to attend during the day I decided that I would join in and read.  If you are at all interested please visit the site and learn all about this exciting event.

So, after cheer-leading for the last read-a-thon and finding out all about different reader’s strategies,  I decided that, along with the books I am currently reading, Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigred Undset, and  Let The Great World Spin by Colum McCann, I would stockpile a collection of books from the  library in hopes that one or more would keep me reading for as long as I can.  I think I went a bit overboard…

IMG_3081

Novels:

The House of Paper by Carlos Maria Dominguez*

The Book of Flying by Keith Miller*

Her Fearful Symmetry by  Audrey Niffenegger

Lark & Termite by Jayne Anne Phillips

My Abandonment by Peter Rock

Sometimes we’re always real same-same by Mattox Roesch

Mysteries:

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

The Darkest Room by Johan Theorin

Young Adult Novels:

The Bride’s Farewell by Meg Rosoff

Middle Grade Novels:

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken

A Episode of Sparrows by Rumer Godden

The Dark Horse by Marcus Sedgwick

A biography:

Flannery: a life of Flannery O’Connor by Brad Gooch

A children’s book:

Wee Gillis by Munro Leaf

Graphic novels:

Ethel & Ernest by Raymond Briggs

The Rabbi’s Cat #1 and #2 by Joann Sfar

On my MP3 Player:

The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams read by Stephen Fry (I  am completely psyched about this)

The 39 Steps by John Buchan

If these don’t keep me engaged, I have several piles of to-be-read books lying about the house.

*These two books were suggested by Chris on his fabulous Surprise Vlog.  Thank you, Chris.  They both look wonderful.

39 Comments

Filed under Dewey's 24 Hour Read-a-thon, Sunday Salon

39 responses to “Sunday Salon – A Read-a-Thon Book Pile

  1. The Wolves of Willoughby Chase, Ether & Ernest and Hitchhiker’s are such great read-a-thon choices! And I’m sure the others are too, but these are the only ones I’ve read :P You’ll have a wonderful time for sure!

    • Nymeth – I’ve never read Joan Aiken and I’m excited about “Wolves”. Hitchhiker’s Guide is one of my favorite reads and listening to it read by Stephen Fry is my idea of an adventure! Loved your vlog.

  2. I don’t think you went overboard at all. Far better to have too many than too few. As for me, I’ve got fifteen nonfiction picture books lined up for sure, along with another five or so possibles. Good luck and I hope I’ll see you during Readathon.

    • I can’t wait to hear about the nonfiction picture books. I’m creating a list of new picture books to add to our school library, maybe some of the ones you read will work.

      I’m going to try and check in with folks during the read-a-thon, at least to take breaks from reading.

  3. I don’t think you went overboard, either. It’s good to have lots of variety and choices!

  4. LOve what you have here!

    I am yet to line up books for the readathon. Frankly no time as it is the Diwali week now!

    Sunday Salon: Post Diwali

  5. You have a great pile. Ethel and Ernest and the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy are perfect read-a-thon reads! Time will fly with these two books. I thought about re-reading Ethel and Ernest this week but I don’t have enough time. I love the variety you have in your pile.

    • It’s great to hear from you, Vasilly. I think I’ve got a really good selection of books for the read-a-thon. I even grabbed a couple more graphic novels at the library today.

      I’m excited about reading!

  6. At least when you go hog-wild at the library, the worst thing that can happen is you’ll return a bunch of books unread. :-) This looks like a great pile – Flannery O’Connor seems like such an interesting subject for a bio.

    • That’s why I LOVE my library. I can borrow books I think I might enjoy and, if not, return them. I’m planning on reading the O’Connor bio even if I don’t get to it for the read-a-thon.

  7. I am sorry you aren’t feeling well, Gavin! My allergies have been really bad. I think they may be turning into a cold, but I don’t really want to believe that yet.

    You’ve got a great list of possible books to read during the read-a-thon! I hope you have a great time. Have a wonderful week!

    • Wendy – Hope you are better, I am definitely feeling better. I’m excited about the read-a-thon and curious as to how much I can actually read!

  8. There is no such thing as overboard when it comes to the readathon. :-D

  9. My Read-a-Thon stuff is going to be mostly short stories and essays: Louis Menand, Thomas Mann, Tocqueville. I’m going to try my best to read the entire 24 hours but I’m not 100% sure I can make it.

    • I know I can’t stay up all night but maybe naps will help. I do have some short story collections and will try them if I get stuck.

  10. You must have lots to pick from! It is always better to have a nice big stack that can accommodate any mood. I’m about 80% through Her Fearful Symmetry now. Despite the mixed reviews, I’m really liking it!

  11. There’s no such thing as overboard. You might need to have all of these to rotate through depending on mood and if you didn’t have them at hand, think of how stressful that would be.

    I’m going to cheerlead a little bit this read-a-thon thanks to commitments I can’t avoid so I’ll look forward to seeing what’s striking your fancy during the day. :-)

    • Kristen – Thanks for stopping by! I’m excited about the read-a-thon, but have no idea what will hold my attention or how much I will actually read.

  12. ds

    That is some list. I always thought An Episode of Sparrows was a short story. Guess not (perhaps because it was written for children, so it read faster?). I’ll be interested in your thoughts on Lark& Termite, as it is in the pile somewhere.Hope you enjoy Hitchiker–it would be a fun audio!
    Thank you for coming by today, and for the kind words you left.

    • ds – You are most welcome, I enjoy your web site. An Episode of Sparrows is actually a novel, 200+ pages. The New York Review has published a version of it in their Children’s Collection that I covet.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  13. Oh my goodness, I loved The Wolves of Willoughby chase when I read it as a teenager and I had completely forgotten about it until now! Perhaps I will have to re-read it!

  14. You have a great stack of books there – surely something for any mood that strikes! I loved Kristen Lavransdatter and have heard good things about Let The Great World Spin. Ethel & Ernest is my favorite graphic novel!

    • JoAnn – I figured that if I had lots of choices something would hold my attention! I am loving Let The Great World Spin and will write about it when I’m done (maybe after the read-a-thon). Can’t wait to read Ethel & Ernest. have a great week.

  15. Oh my goodness! I hope you get to that Flannery O’Connor bio before you fall asleep! Would love to hear your thoughts. Also can’t wait to hear what you think of Let the Great World Spin. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would.

    • Priscilla – I’ll read the O’Connor bio regardless. It looks fascinating. I am loving “Let The Great World Spin” and will write about it when I’m done. Thanks for your comments.

  16. Lots of good looking books in that pile! Enjoy!

  17. Gavin, The House of Paper is perfect readathon material! Super short and super wonderful! :D

  18. great list of books. Good luck!

  19. I’ve only heard of one…it’s amazing how many books are out there to read!

  20. I love The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy too, I am planning to read the last 3 books during the read-a-thon :-)

Leave a Reply

