Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon Wrap-up

deweys-readathonbutton

I managed to stay awake for another 2 hours and then just couldn’t keep my eyes open!  I want to thank Trish, Wordlily, Nymeth and Eva for organizing this event, all the wonderful people who ran mini-challenges and all the fabulous cheer leaders.  It was great fun!

Hours read: about 12

Total books read:

Sometimes we’re always real same-same by Mattox Roesch.  Loved it, will review later this week.

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button: A Graphic Novel adapted from an F. Scott Fitzgerald story by Nunzio DeFilippis and Christina Weir.

The Bride’s Farewell by Meg Rosoff.  Another favorite, will review later.

The House of Paper by Carlos Maria Dominquez.  A lovely, quirky little book about books.

The Facts in the Case of the Departure of Miss Finch.  A graphic novel by Neil Gaiman, Michael Zulli and Todd Klein.

Wee Gillis by Munro Leaf, illustrated by Robert Lawson. A children’s book by the creator of  The Story of Ferdinand.

Ethel & Ernest by Raymond Brigg’s.  A lovely graphic novel which I will read again before returning it to the library.

The Rabbi’s Cat by Joann Sfar.  Another graphic novel, beautifully drawn and inked and quite funny.

My Abandonment by Peter Rock.  I got 38 pages in and then drifted off to sleep.

Total pages read: 1137

How I feel about the Read-a-thon:  This was great fun.  I’m am really glad I had a large selection of books on my Read-a-thon pile, including the graphic novels.  They added many pages to my total count.  There were several books I picked up to read and just couldn’t get into and it was a relief to have many other choices.  Until next time, keep reading!

10 Comments

Filed under Dewey's 24 Hour Read-a-thon, Events

10 responses to “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon Wrap-up

  1. Pingback: Sunday Salon – Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon « Page247

  2. Hey, you got a lot of great books read! I hope you had tons of fun.

  3. Congratulations! You did great! I hope you’re now having a well-deserved, restful sleep! :)

  4. You did great! Glad to see you enjoyed Roesch’s novel too : )

  5. You did amazing, Gavin! I saw Sometimes We’re Always Real Same-Same at the bookstore awhile back and was tempted, but hadn’t heard anything about it yet. So looking forward to your thoughts.

    Glad to see you liked The House of Paper. :)

  6. Good job, Gavin! I wished I could drop in on peoples’ blogs during the day, but we were hosting some out-of-town friends…it seems like you and everyone else had a great time. Yay! :-)

  7. glad you had a fun read-a-thon! :)

    • Thanks Care! I felt conflicted, wanted to visit and comment all the readers but felt distracted by the computer. May just cheer next time.

  8. Wow, you did great! I couldn’t participate this year, but I’ll make sure to be there in April!

Leave a Reply

