Sunday Salon

TSSbadge3

Winter isn’t far away.  We have had intense rain squalls this week, and, unusual for Seattle, lots of thunder and lightning.  There have been many children staying home with fevers and coughs but I seem to have avoided getting sick so far.  Must be all that hand washing and vitamin C.

This week I wrote several reviews, read The Ask and The Answer by Patrick Ness, Stitches by Davis Small and about 100 pages of the second book of Kristin Lavransdatter.  I also picked up a pile of books at the library including:

wallf1668a93d8a47eb597958665567434d414f4541Sweeping Up Glass by Carolyn Wall.  This is a mystery written in a style reviewers have compared with Flannery O’Conner and Harper Lee.

fien0330444409.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_The Music Room by William Fiennes.  A memoir written by the author of The  Snow Geese, a book I read in September.   This is the story of William’s older brother, Richard, who suffers from epilepsy.

One of the books I’m reading right now is  Guernica by David  Boling.  This is a LibraryThing early reviewer book that got lost in my TBR stack.  Must finish and review soon!

What are you reading this week?

The Sunday Salon is a gathering of bloggers who read and who write about what they read.  You can find out all about it here.

9 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

9 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. I read Sweeping Up Glass earlier this year; I thought it was great. Hope you enjoy it!

    • I’m looking forward to “Sweeping Up Glass”, particularly because it is a debut novel and the comments I’ve been reading about it have been very positive.

  2. Oh, Guernica has been on my list for quite awhile now. My library doesn’t have it, and I can’t get it on Kindle. I may have to just break down and buy it!

  3. You’ve had a great reading week! I haven’t finished a book yet. Right now I’m reading Lit by Mary Karr, The Creative Habit by Twyla Tharp and a few others. Hoping to finish the Tharp book today.

    Happy Sunday.

  4. I finished Kristin Lavransdatter this week…and boy was I glad to finish! It’s going to be hard to type up my thoughts on the last two books.

    • You are a champ to have finished”Kristin” so quickly. There are parts I can get through quickly and others that are just a slog!

  5. Eva

    Sweeping Up Glass sounds so good!

Leave a Reply

