Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday Salon! I can’t believe it is just a few days ’til those of us in the US celebrate Thanksgiving.  The weather in Seattle has been cold and rainy and I have been sick.  Even stayed home from school for a day to try and recuperate.  So I’m now spending the entire weekend curled up with hot tea and a good book.  Well,  actually several good books.

Besides finishing the second part of Kristin Lavransdatter, continuing to read Guernica and writing two reviews, I have started Margaret Atwood’s The Year of the Flood.  I reread Oryx and Crake in September to prepare for this new novel and find I like the new one better.  I’m not sure why but will make an effort to describe my reasons when I write my review.

I am thinking about my reading for 2010.  I will be joining in on Moby Dick Monday as soon as I’m done with the Kristin Lavransdatter read-along.  I was planning on reading Melville’s classic sometime this winter and this is a great way to read along with others.

I have signed up for several challenges,  plan on joining in on Amanda’s GLBT 2010 Challenge and am hoping some of my favorites from 2009 will come around again for the new year. What about you?  Are you signing up for new challenges?  Which are your favorites from this past year?

I hope you all have a great reading week and a happy Thanksgiving, how ever you celebrate this glorious harvest holiday.

14 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

14 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. Oh, please do tell all about The Year of the Flood. I loved Oryx and Crake. It was my very first Atwood novel.

  2. Ti

    I’m so sorry you aren’t feeling well but your plan to curl up with books and tea sounds so wonderful. Feel better soon.

    The Atwood books are on my list. I am thinking about suggesting them for book group next year.

  3. I too will be interested in hearing your comparison of the two Atwood books!

  4. I’m not the biggest Atwood fan, and while I didn’t LOVE The Year of the Flood, I think I am with you in that I enjoyed it more than Oryx and Crake. That said, I haven’t read O&C for quite a while, so I can’t really give any good reasoning for why one would work better for me than the other, so I’ll certainly be interested in hearing your thoughts on the matter!

  5. I’ve never completely finished Moby Dick, Gavin, and I’ve been thinking about trying again ever since the Bolaño readalong. Look forward to hearing your thoughts on that and hope you feel better soon!

  6. I have Year of the Flood waiting in the wings.

    I’ve signed up for the Women Unbound Challenge and South Asian Authors. And I’m going to try to limit myself to those…we’ll see how that goes.

  7. I still have to read my book for Japanese Literature, about 9 Random Reading Challenge books to complete, and all ten of my Shelf Discovery Challenge books to read. Still, I intend to join the TBR Challenge again this year…I mean how can you miss out on picking 12 books you want to read? And I’m looking out for a graphic novel challenge of some kind. I need to explore this genre. Lastly, I know for sure I will sign up for the War Through the Generations again. I love that one! And this time it is Vietnam.

    • I’m continuing with the Random Reading challenge and several more that run through mid 2010. I’ll have to consider WTTG, Vietnam would be just to facinating to pass up.

  8. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving and I sincerely hope that you are feeling better and have a healthy holiday week/weekend.

Leave a Reply

