Sunday Salon – Almost Winter

Happy December!  It’s hard to believe the year is almost over.  We are planning several holiday celebrations at school and the children are making holiday gifts.   Everyone is gathering greens for our annual Wreath Making party, a much loved event put on by our middle school students.   It includes a bake sale put on by students and a book sale put on by a  local independent bookstore.  They are kind enough to donate a percentage of the sales to the school library!

I  gave up on a book this week, one I enjoyed reading when I started but grew tired of half way through. Does this ever happen to you?

Maybe it was because I brought home a copy of The Children’s Book by A.S. Byatt from the library, and once I’d picked that up I could not put it down.  I am loving it and recommending it to all and sundry.

Griselda said her aunt’s fairy stories frightened her.  So did Hans Anderson, he made her cry.  But not this sort of tale.  She didn’t know why.  It sould be scary, there was lots of blood.  Toby said that these were memories of some other time, long ago, and he agreed, they weren’t scary.

“They are just like that,” said Griselda, feeling for what intrigued her, not finding it.

Toby looked at the serious thin face.  He said he would send her a book of the Grimms, if she was allowed to recieve it.  Griselda said she didn’t think her family had anything against the Grimms.  They just didn’t know about them.  Toby wanted to stroke her hair, and say, don’t worry, but he didn’t think that was a good idea.  From page 56.

I really have to sit down and figure out where I am at with my challenges for this year and which ones I have joined and will join for next year.  Once I’m done with Kristin Lavransdatter I’m joining in on the Moby Dick Monday read-along over at Book Chatter.  I am also considering this read-along.  How about you?  Do you have you challenges all planned out or will you join what ever strikes your fancy?

Sunday Salon is a gathering of book lovers who write about books and about blogging.  The posts and the bloggers are eclectic, intriguing and exciting.

14 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon, Uncategorized

14 responses to “Sunday Salon – Almost Winter

  1. First, before I forget, I love your falling snow on here! I’ve been wanting to read The Children’s Book. I just checked my library and they don’t have it on audio, which was my big chance. I feel like my hard book reading is planned out for me for awhile. I must get to it!

    • The snow is special wordpress treat! Maybe you could request that your library get copy of The Children’s Book on audio? Have a great week!

  2. What a great idea: the wreath-making party.

    I really love the readalongs, I think because I am not in a book club and it makes it seem like being in one!

    I like the falling snow too – feels very Christmas-y!

  3. I just turned The Children’s Book back into the library. I’m in a reading slump, and couldn’t concentrate when I opened it up. I figured it’d be best to get it some other time, when I could really put my efforts into it.

  4. yay! I’m SO glad to hear you’re loving it. I had a feeling you would :D

  5. I seem to be one of the few who has never read The Children’s Book! It seems to come so highly recommended, and I have liked the (admittedly only one) other Byatt book I’ve read.

    And yes, I too have put down a book I enjoyed at first and then kind of got bogged down in. For many, I optimistically still have a bookmark in those!

    • The Children’s Book has lots to do with fairy tales and folk tales, that is one reason I love it. Thanks for your comments and have a good week.

  6. I’m so happy to hear you’re loving The Children’s Book – it sounds TOTALLY intriguing to me, and I really want to read it, but I keep encountering mixed reviews. Good to know someone is wholeheartedly enjoying it. :-) (And yeah, it’s CRAZY that the year is almost over. Seriously.)

  7. Ti

    How do you make it snow on your blog? I use WordPress too but I am snow-less.

    The only challenge that I am doing is the 100+ book challenge because it’s so easy to track and everything counts.

    Moby Dick is sort of a challenge but I consider it more of a read-along than anything.

  8. Ti

    Re: snow.. I figured it out. Disregard my previous post.

  9. I loved The Children’s Book. So atmospheric and I really loved the fairy tale & puppet parts of it.

Leave a Reply

