Sunday Salon – Favorite Books – Part Two

December 21  is the Winter Solstice, one of my favorite days of the year.  For those of us in the Northern Hemisphere it is time of great darkness mixed with the knowledge that light will return.

Imagine what it must have been like for those who did not have an understanding of the Sun and the Earth and the relationship between the two.  How frightening, seeing the days grow shorter, feeling the cold, wondering if the Sun was dying?

Winter days and nights,  what a perfect time for reading!  Today I plan on finishing The Children’s Book.  And to continue  from last Sunday here are more favorite books from 2009.

Non-Fiction

Don’t Sleep, There are Snakes by Daniel L. Everett

Remarkable Creatures by Sean B. Carroll

The Snow Geese by William Fiennes

Cold: Adventures in the World’s Frozen Places by Bill Streever

and finally,

Fiction

Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh

Someone Knows My Name by Lawrence Hill

Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Stout

Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Lavinia By Ursula K. Le Guin

Serena by Ron Rash

and even though I haven’t quite finished it …

The Children’s Book by A.S. Byatt

A special mention goes to  2666 by Roberto Bolano, I never would have read this fantastic, chaotic jumble of a novel without all my read-along cohorts.  Thanks to all of you, you know who you are!

Find out about Sunday Salon here.

13 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

13 responses to “Sunday Salon – Favorite Books – Part Two

  1. ” For those of us in the Northern Hemisphere it is time of great darkness mixed with the knowledge that light will return.”

    I love that about it too :)

    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on The Children’s Book. And I ordered Cold as a Christmas gift to myself because of you!

    • Oh, I hope you like “Cold”. I am loving “The Children’s Book” and I feel there is so much to say about it I don’t know where to begin. Have a wonderful holiday!

  2. I like the shorter days…I sleep better, and it makes me feel like it’s okay to hole up and read. :-D

  3. I am really kinda kicking myself now for not reading 2666. It is just so darned big! I can’t say I’ve read many of these, although Olive is high on my list, and was one of EW’s best books of 2008.

    • I loved Olive Kitteridge. The is suppost to be another 2666 read-along happening but I’m not sure where or when. Have a wonderful holiday!

  4. I read a fantasy novel earlier this season where there were two suns and one of them disappeared for awhile, causing quite a lot of concern. No one understood what had happened. An evil woman used it to her advantage and created an entire religion around it, using the sun’s return as her proof that her way was the right way. Scary stuff. And totally unrelated. LOL

    Half of a Yellow Sun was such a good book. Several others on your fiction list are ones I want to read.

    Your mention of 2666 reminded me that I won a copy of that one in a giveaway in September but I never received it. I imagine I’ll have to get that one on my own at some point when I decide to read it.

    Have a great week, Gavin!

  5. I love coming here. Thanks for the list.

    • Thank you Susan! I hope you and yours have a wonderful, restful Holiday. Thanks for all your great book recommendations, there is no way I can read them all.

  6. Yay for 2666! I also loved Sea of Poppies and a couple of others on your list. Am hesitant now about The Children’s Book because a lot of bloggers have written such negative reviews, but hopefully your thoughts will convince me. :)

    • Oh, I haven’t read reviews about The Children’s Book. I’m loving it, and hope I can write something that does it justice.

      I can’t wait for the second book in Ghosh’s trilogy but I haven’t heard a thing about it! Happy Holidays!

  7. Yes! 2666 was my absolute favorite as well! You simply must read The Savage Detectives.

Leave a Reply

