Sunday Salon – The Challenge Post

Ah, Christmas is past and, unbelievably, we are in the last week of December.  I hope you all had a wonderful holiday.  I know I did, spent time with family, ate good food and got some wonderful books  as presents including this:

this:

and this:

I am very happy with many of the books I read in 2009 and would like to be even more discerning in what I read in 2010.   I am joining other readers who are planning a Year of Reading Deliberately.

I did a pretty good job of completing challenges in 2009 and said I would rein in my excitement and limit my challenges to those I could realistically handle in 2010.  So how did I end up with so many?  This is nothing, there are many book bloggers who are taking on more and bigger challenges for the new year.  If you are curious please make sure to visit the links below or go here for other options.  Sheesh, now there’s a Neil Gaiman challenge!

Continuing from 2009:

The  Banned Book Challenge organized by Trisha at eclectic/eccentric.

The  Canadian Challenge III organized by John Mutford at The Book Mine Set.

The Random Reading Challenge organized by Wendy at Caribousmom.

The VRPoetry Challenge organized by Lu at Regular Rumination.

and I am joining another perpetual challenge:

The Notable Book Perpetual Challenge organized by Wendy at Caribousmom and Michelle at 1MoreChapter.

as for new challenges for 2010:

I’m joining two Sci-Fi challenges.  The 42 Challenge for 2010 and the Sci-Fi Challenge that Mish has organized.

I’ve joined Amanda’s GLBT 2010 Reading Challenge and plan on reading 8 books.

One of my favorite challenges from 2009 was Orbis Terrarum but I haven’t heard if it is continuing in 2010 so I’ve joined the 2010 Global Reading Challenge organized by Dorte H at DJs krimiblog.

This year’s  Graphic Novel Challenge 2010 is hosted by Nymeth and Chris and I am signing on for 12 books.

A New Authors Challenge is being organized by Jackie at Literary Escapism and I want to read 25 new authors.

And finally, another favorite from 2009, the Science Book Challenge 2010.

Whew, that is more than I thought.  Plus I plan on joining Once Upon A Time and R.I.P.V  if Carl V. is gracious enough to host them again.  I think I that cross posting  books to multiple challenges will help reach my goals.  I know several of these challenges will expand my reading and move me out of my comfort zone.  How about you?  What challenges are you joining in 2010?

22 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

22 responses to “Sunday Salon – The Challenge Post

  1. I tried to go light on challenges in 2010, too, but I still ended up with more than I expected.

  2. You’ve got quite a few challenges there! And I love your Christmas presents! I already read the Gaiman but I’m very interested in the other two!

  3. Gavin,

    I don’t know how you do it. I’ve joined 5 and one requires more than reading a book so I’m good. I’m going to try not to join more but I’ll see.

    I think I’ll be content reading how others are progressing and maybe including some of your reads in my challenges if I can.

    • Susan,
      I don’t know how I ended up with so many challenges, they are just so inviting! If I’m not happy with my progress, I’ve promised myself to adjust my goals mid-year.
      I’m going to be using some of your suggestions for my New Authors challenge. Have a wonderful week.

  4. I’m signed up for a few of the same challenges as you are. I forgot about Carl’s two challenges. I’m definitely signing up for them again next year. Good luck.

  5. They are hard to resist, aren’t they? But I have held fast, and am opting only for shared reads in 2010. For me, they are more satisfying reading projects, but I know this is not true for everyone. Some of you are so good at actually finishing all of these challenges (unlike me!).

    Really interested in your copy of Crow Planet. Don’t know anything about this one, but have that keen interest in the birds as you do.

    Happy reading!

    • I don’t know how I ended up with so many challenges and will adjust my goals mid-year if they seem overwhelming.

      Crow Planet is wonderful book by local (Seattle) author. I think you would enjoy it.

  6. Challenges are so amazingly addicting – at least the signing up for them part. I keep seeing more that I want to join, but I’m trying to hold back. I only read about 100 books a year, and if I sign up for all of the challenges I’d like, I think I’d have to read more like 500. ;)

  7. Yeah, I fell for quite a few challenges for 2010, plus have a couple running over from 2009. The good thing is that nobody bashes us in the head if we don’t complete them!

    • You are right about that! I hope you had great holiday. My router has been wonky again, and is driving me a bit nuts. It makes it hard to visit blogs and leave comments!

  8. It sounds like you had a nice Christmas–and look at those books! Lots of good reading ahead.

    Good luck with all the challenges this next year! Reading challenges can be such fun and I hope you have plenty of it.

    Have a great week!

  9. I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s totally addicted to challenges! I’m joining the sci-fi challenge this year, and it’s one that I’m very excited about since I love sci-fi, yet haven’t found much time to read it lately.

    • I’m also excited about the Sci-Fi challenge. I’m hoping it will introduce me to some new authors, as I tend to be very “picky”. I plan on rereading some classic sci-fi as well.

  10. I don’t know where my challenges will end up taking me! I always end up signing up for way more than I can complete! So glad you’re doing the GN challenge though :D And I’m thrilled that you got The Graveyard Book Gavin!! You haven’t read that one yet? You’re in for a treat!!

    • Chris – I have read The Graveyard Book but it was one that I borrowed from the library and I wanted my own copy. Being on a book-buying ban I put it on my wish list for “Santa” and he come through! Have a wonderful week, and a Happy New Year!

      • Hey there :). You’ll have to tell me (or post a review :D) how The Graveyard Book goes? I’ve not read all of Gaiman’s books yet..but I love his style..and absolutely adore Stardust, Neverwhere, and Anansi Boys. The Graveyard Book is on my TBR list..and I hope to get to it in the near future!

  11. It was a pleasure reading your 2009 reviews for the Canadian Book Challenge, and I look forward to your thoughts in 2010!

Leave a Reply

