Moby Dick Monday

Avast!  Ti at Book Chatter has organized a challenge/read-along called  Moby Dick Monday. After finishing Kirstin Lavransdatter I am happily joining in.  I had no idea of the depth of Melville’s sense of humor or his use of wit to enhance his biting commentary and am enjoying every page.

I have read up to chapter 19, trying to catch up with the other readers.

Ismael, determined to join a whaling crew and see the world, has met up with Queequeg under intimate circumstances.  Reflective and ever curious, Ismael is fascinated by this civilized savage and willing to join him in every endeavour.

I was a good Christian; born and bred in the bosom of the infallible Presbyterian Church.  How then could I unite with this idolator in worshipping his piece of wood?  But what is worship? thought I.  Do you suppose now, Ismael, that the magnanimous God of heaven and earth-pagans and all included-can possibly be jealous of an insignificant bit of black wood?  Impossible!  But what is worship?- to do the will of God- that is worship.  And what is the will of God – to do to my fellow man what I would have my fellow man do to me –  that is the will of God.  Now, Queequeg is my fellow man.  And what do I wish that this Queequeg would do to me?  Why, unite with me in my particular Presbyterian form of worship.  Consequently, I must then unite with him in his; ergo, I must turn idolator.  From page 55.

Brave soul, Ismael, and quite adventurous for his time.  I love the descriptions of New Bedford and Nantucket, particularly the Try Pots and the many kinds of chowder!  And the description of the Pequod, with all that whale bone and ivory, was very creepy to me, thinking of  the destruction brought upon whale populations during this time in our history. Now Ismael and Queequeg have signed on to the ship and are about to begin their great journey.  I can not wait to meet Captain Ahab.

I have hesitated to read other people’s comments until I joined in the fun.  Here is a list of those reading along:

Ti at Book Chatter

Jill/Softdrink of Fizzy Thoughts

Jill of RhapsodyinBooks

Dar of Peeking Between the Pages

Eva of A Striped Armchair

Wisteria from Bookworm’s Dinner

Claire from kiss a cloud (will join us in 2010)

9 Comments

Filed under Classic, Read-Along

9 responses to “Moby Dick Monday

  1. I love Melville’s sense of humor! I had no idea about it either!

  2. Ti

    To think that we’d all find Melville humorous…incredible.

    I’m so glad you are enjoying it!

  3. Gavin, really looking forward to your weekly updates on this. And thankfully, good chowder isn’t hard to find in my neck of the woods–so I won’t be envious of any more chowder references! Happy New Year!

  4. I actually kind of love Melville. It’s taken me a while to realize/accept that, but I think it’s true. Will be looking forward to your posts as time goes on. :-)

  5. Skip my comments…I’m the one nay-sayer who refuses to give up. :-)

Leave a Reply

