The International Year of Biodiversity and a Reading Challenge!

If I stopped to think about what is happening to our planet I would never get up in the morning.  So instead of allowing myself to wallow in the knowledge of the stupidity of much of our human behavior I get excited about events like this,  walk the beach at low tide and introduce people to animals like this,

Burrowing Anemone

and try and learn everything I can about animals and plants that live in my neighborhood.

This year I am going to focus on birds.  How about you?  What trees share your block?  What birds visit  your backyard?

It turns out that there are other readers out there who get as excited about the earth as I do.  Thanks to Eva at A Striped Armchair I learned that Sylvia at Classical Bookworm has created a challenge to celebrate the IYOB.

Here is her discription of the challenge:

As a biologist, I naturally couldn’t let this international year go by without putting together a reading challenge for it! By learning more about biodiversity we can better appreciate its value and do more to ensure its protection at home and around the world. To that end I’ve put together a selection of reading challenges for this year:

Basic: 3 books on any biodiversity topic.

Biomes: 3 books about major world ecosystems: open ocean; coral reefs; lakes and rivers; arctic tundra; boreal forests; temperate forests; tropical forests; savannah; grassland/steppe/ deserts.

Branches: 3 books on different life forms: plants; fungi; invertebrates (including insects); reptiles and amphibians; birds; mammals.

Bye-bye: 2 books about endangered or extinct species or about extinction or conservation.

Back yard: Buy 2 or more field guides to your local flora & fauna and get to know your neighbours.

Biodiversity Bonanza: One of each of the above!

I’ve also devised some “field trips” to get you closer to your subject:

Level 1—Indoorsy: Visit a natural history museum or watch a documentary series on biodiversity (e.g. Planet Earth)

Level 2—Outdoorsy: Take a guided walk or hike in a local park. Check park system websites for schedules.

Level 3—Full Granola: Design your own field trip to go birding, botanizing, field-journaling, or whatever you like. Alternatively, join a local natural history club, or take a course in natural history online or at a college or community centre.

To make all this easier I’ve gathered together some helpful resources here, and will be adding to them throughout the year as I make more discoveries.

I’m signing up at the bonaza level.  How about you?

5 Comments

Filed under Animals, Earth, Nature

5 responses to “The International Year of Biodiversity and a Reading Challenge!

  1. This is a great challenge! I love the names of the levels! I may hve to check this one out!

  2. Hi Gavin! Thanks for participating in the Biodiversity Reading Challenge. I think you have the right idea by getting to know your natural neighbours. It’s like that familiar saying: Think globally, act locally. There’s a lot of sanity in that.

    • Sylvia – Thanks for organizing the challenge. I have been a volunteer Salmon Naturalist and Beach Naturalist in Seattle for the last ten years. It is one thing I can do to have a positive impact on my local environment. If one person changes their lawn care habits or stops washing their car in the street I feel I have actually accomplished something.

  3. Eva

    >>If I stopped to think about what is happening to our planet I would never get up in the morning.

    I feel that way about so many issues. :/ But I can’t wait to see your reviews for this challenge!

  4. Pingback: International Year of Biodiversity Reading Challenge « Classical Bookworm

Leave a Reply

