Topdog/Underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks

Topdog/Underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks

Theater Communications Group, New York, 2001

This Pulitzer prize-winning  play is the story of two brothers named by their father Lincoln and Booth.  The names were supposed to be funny.

It is a wrenching story of how these two, with a difficult shared history, try to live together, making every effort to survive and rise above poverty. Parks constantly demands that we pay attention to the opposites,  older/younger, smarter/slower, black/white, mythic history/present reality.  She asks if there is ever a place of meeting, of balance.  It is  a  difficult story, intense and very dark.

Reading this play reminded me of how much I love live theater.
I want to thank Vasilly for bringing this to my attention.  I had wanted to see the local production and missed it.

2 Comments

Filed under New Authors 2010, Plays, Theater

2 responses to “Topdog/Underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks

  1. This sounds great! I love live theatre too, and don’t see plays nearly as often as I’d like to.

  2. I agree that Parks demands of the reader to pay attention to opposites and also the conditions that surrounded the brothers. I would love to see this play performed. I’m glad you read this.

Leave a Reply

