Three Picture Books

In winter I often desire bright colors and beautiful images.  One way I find to fulfill this craving is by borrowing picture books from my public library.  I like to share my favorites with other readers.

The Negro Speaks of Rivers by Langston Hughes

Illustrated by E. B. Lewis

Jump At The Sun Books, New York, 2009

This is a beautifully illustrated book using the words of a powerful Langston Hughes poem and  full page water color paintings by E.B. Lewis.  I wish I could find an example of a painting from the book to show you but I could not find any on the web.  Please visit his site to see samples of his work.

The Gardener by Sarah Stewart

Illustrations by David Small

Farrar Straus Giroux, New York, 1997

This is the story of Lydia Grace Finch, forced by the depression to move to the city and help out in her Uncle Jim’s bakery.  Uncle Jim doesn’t smile.  Lydia Grace loves gardening and brings that love to a dull corner of the city, planting seeds and bulbs in what ever will hold some dirt.  Her care and generosity enliven the bakery and, eventually, the entire  neighborhood.   Told through a series of letters, wonderfully drawn and washed with color by Stewart’s husband, David Small, this is a perfect book to read in the middle of winter.

Market! by Ted Lewin

Lothop, Lee & Shepard Books, New York, 1996

From the mountains of the Andes to the souks of Morocco, Ted Lewin brings us to market.  The paintings are stunning, the faces of the people are beautiful.  This book shows many great economic and social meeting places.  They are found in Nepal, in Ireland, in the Bronx.  It shows the effort and dedication people use to make a living.

3 Comments

Filed under PictureBooks

3 responses to “Three Picture Books

  1. The Gardener and The Negro Speaks of Rivers are two of my favorite books ever! Sarah Stewart and David Small are two of the best author-illustrators. I haven’t heard of Market before. I’ll be sure to place it on hold.

  2. I had never seen E.B. Lewis’s work before. Now I want to read everything he ever illustrated! I found the Stewart/Small book after reading David Small’s graphic novel “Stitches”. Just picked up “The Journey” from the library.

    “Market” is very bold and bright. I loved his people, their faces. I hope you enjoy it.

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Books of 2010 | Page247

Leave a Reply

