Sunday Salon – Change in Process

Happy Valentine’s Day and to all of you buried under the BIG snow I hope you are snug and warm.

The weather turned again, rainy and cold the past several days with hints of the sun for a couple of hours one afternoon.  I am spending time with gardening books, working on ideas for veggie plots as well as raspberry canes and blueberry bushes.

Reading and reviews went well this past week but I had to return several books to the library.  I just could not get into them, not really sure why.  I picked up some others including We by Yevgeny Zamyatin, I Do Not Come To You By Chance by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani,  Mr. Potter by Jamacia Kincaid and a beautiful book of fantasy art by Charles Vess, Drawing Down The Moon.

I have started the process of changing our internet service provider.  Mr. G and I are tired of having our service cut out because the modem and the router are not talking to each other and because our current provider can not seem to get the lines fixed properly.  It may take a while but when it is done I hope to be able to visit blogs and comment without my browser being “unable to find http://www.abcdef.com”.  I can’t wait!

Today I plan on finishing Moby Dick and spending time with Umberto Eco’s The Infinity of Lists: An Illustrated Essay, a fascinating and beautiful book published by Rizzoli.  What are you reading?

Sunday Salon is a gathering of people who love, read and write about books.  Find out about it here.

12 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

12 responses to “Sunday Salon – Change in Process

  1. My reading is not nearly as interesting as yours. I may have to stop by the library later today and exchange books. The Eco essays sounds terrific. I’m a fan of lists, myself.

    • Thanks for the comment! I only have access to some many interesting books because I have a great library system. Have a good week.

  2. kiss a cloud

    Love Vess! Also Eco; would love to hear your thoughts on that. Also, Mr Potter was my first Kincaid and I fell in love with her because of that! I’m also reading Kincaid this month. Ooh I hope you love it!

    • I guess I knew Vess from certain graphic novels but now I want to read the other books he has illustrated. He is a wonder.

      I have not read Kincade before, and have just started Mr Potter. I am loving her musical language. Have a great week, Claire.

  3. Don’t blame you for switching. Our service here is great, but at my mom’s house in IN, the connection is spotty. Every time I am there, I throw a huge fit and threaten to call the provider myself. Who can live like that?

    • We’ve been really trying to work with our service provider but we’re payin’ good money for a service that is not working. Doesn’t make sense!

  4. I love to start thinking about spring gardening! I’ll be looking over some books and thinking about changes soon, but right now we still have too much snow! I’m reading The Invention of Hugo Cabret today, not sure what’ll be next. Have a good week!

  5. Congrats on finishing Moby Dick! You’re a better reader than I am. :-D

  6. Ti

    I finished it this weekend. Moby that is. I really feel as if I accomplished something. It’s a good feeling that I plan to stretch out for quite awhile.

    • Ti – I agree, it is a great accomplishment, and thanks again for organizing the read-along. I wanted to read Melville this winter but might have given up without the companionship of others!

Leave a Reply

