Drawing Down The Moon by Charles Vess

Drawing Down The Moon: The Art of Charles Vess

Introduction by Susanna Clarke

Dark Horse Books, Milwaukie, 2009

Borrowed from the library.

A beautiful book containing illustrations and drawings covering Vess’  long and successful career.  Drawing Down The Moon includes images from his collaborations with Neil Gaiman, Charles de Lint, Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling.

These images are very detailed and  intricate.  They have depth and an edge to them that is unexpected in most “fantastic” art.   I love Vess’ sense of color.  Visit Dark Horse to see more.

4 Comments

Filed under Art, Graphic Novels, Illustration, Review

4 responses to “Drawing Down The Moon by Charles Vess

  1. I need to get my hands on this! I love his art.

    • Vess is wonderful and this book is amazing. I’m going to read the original Stardust, the one his illustrated for Gaiman. Have a great week.

  2. This looks beautiful. I don’t think I’ve heard of Vess but I’ll definitely check him out since I love anything that Datlow and Windling publishes.

    • Vess is an amazing artist. Check out Blueberry Girl, the children’s book he illustrated for Neil Gaiman. Have agreta week, Vasilly.

Leave a Reply

