Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday Salon to all.  Seattle has had sun and warrmth for most of the past week.  I have been in the yard digging and turning soil and planning where vegetables will go.

Sharing our yard with our landlord makes it difficult at times, so I will clearly mark out two beds of veggies and grow many flowers and herbs in pots and containers.  They make the patio beautiful and there is nothing I like better than brushing against a pot of thyme or rosemary and releasing those lovely oils into the air.

I have been reading Umberto Eco’s book, The Infinity of Lists.  It contains essays on any kind of list you can imagine, the philosophy behind different kinds of lists, the history of lists and many, many lists from literature, religious texts, scientific papers, plays, poetry and other writings.  Oh, I’ve created a list!

The illustrations are  amazing.  I borrowed it from the library and will keep my eyes open for a used copy, just to be able to pick it up and browse through it when ever I want.

I’m planning on spending more time in the yard today.  Maybe I’ll even do some reading out in the glorious sunshine.  I’m in the middle of a wonderful novel by C.M. Mayo, The Last Prince of the Mexican Empire, published by Unbridled Books.  What are you reading this week?

18 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

18 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. I sure would like it if we got some sunshine here. What a gray day. A gray winter, really. And will it ever end?

    I’m off to read Fatelessness.

    • Our weather could be a tease. It may turn rainy and cold again. Enjoy Fatelessness, I’m curious to read what you think of it.

  2. Gavin,

    I have a book for you. Please send me your snail address.

    Thanks.

  3. likeglass

    Seattle is amazing right now. I’m gearing up to go for a walk and visit a friend who just had knee surgery. And of course, to go through some more of Capote’s In Cold Blood and Woolf’s The Waves.

    I’d love to see photos of that veggie garden!

  4. I love lists and imagine a book all about them would be even more enjoyable!

  5. Oooh, I am a list-maker. They help me find meaning and order in life!

  6. I’m crazy about herbs too! I have some in my gardens and then like you have some potted on my deck. I love smelling them. Rosemary is my favorite for sure. The Infinity of Lists sounds interesting..I hope you review it! I’m famous for not finishing my lists. LOL

    • Rosemary is my favorite right now. There are lots of large rosemary plants in my neighborhood and when I walk the dog I always run my hands over them! Have a great week.

  7. I keep hearing how beautiful it is in Portland and Seattle today. Which makes for an odd switch, since it’s raining down here in CA.

    • Seattle’s weather could be a tease and get gray and cold again. If I remember correctly So. Cal. can have weeks of rainy weather! I hope the sun comes out soon.

  8. Ti

    California was not warm and sunny at all. Rainy and gray and a tad chilly even. However, I did get out for awhile to take a walk. I spent the rest of the day indoors, reading. Gotta love that.

    Good luck with the vegetable garden. I have a lovely area for that and we used to plant every year but one particularly hot summer (115 degrees) everything died and it was so depressing that we didn’t plant last year.

    • Walks are good, even in the rain. Really hot weather can be hard on gardens, but you aught to try again. Maybe try something in containers?
      I’m hoping we have a mild summer.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  9. Oh… I desperately, desperately want Infinity of Lists now. There is nothing in the world that makes me happier than the making of a list, particularly a readerly list.

Leave a Reply

