I Do Not Come To You By Chance by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani

I Do Not Come To You By Chance

by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani

Hyperion, New York, 2009

Borrowed from the library.

This is a book I picked up off the shelf at the library,  having no idea what it was about.  Sometimes I get lucky.

I Do Not Come To You By Chance is the story Kingsley, the eldest son, and his middle class Nigerian family.   Corruption, crime and oil money are destroying the traditions of his culture and everything he has grow up to believe in is failing. When his university degree fails to land him a job, his uncle Boniface offers him work in a growth industry.  Email scams.

My father was learned and honest.  Yet he could neither feed his family nor clothe his children.  My mother was also learned, and her life had not been particularly improved much by education.  I thought about my father’s pals most of whom were riding rickety cars…about most of my university lecturers with their boogie-woogie clothes and desperate attempts to fight off hunger by selling over priced handouts to students.  Yet Uncle Boniface –our savior in this time of crisis–had not completed his secondary school education..From page 151.

This is a  wonderful first novel by a young Nigerian writer.  Nwaubani write with compassion and biting humor and shows us a view of  Nigeria from the inside.   Ever wonder if those email scams work?  This book seems to say they do.

7 Comments

Filed under 2010 Global Reading Challenge, New Authors 2010, PoC, Review

7 responses to “I Do Not Come To You By Chance by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani

  1. The fact that it’s about email scams makes this one really tempting! I can’t believe anyone would fall for those.

  2. seana

    Thanks for the rec. I’ll add it to my list. I suppose email scams must work, or people wouldn’t keep trying them.

  3. I love when you get library luck like that :-) Such a great feeling. This sounds really different and fun to me. And I always wonder who’s on the other side of those emails…

  4. It is fun and different, and explains what goes on behind those email scams!

  5. Pingback: Black African Authors « Diversify Your Reading

Leave a Reply

