Sunday Salon – A Confession

It’s been raining in Seattle.  I had wonderful intentions for the end of this week.   I would finish two books, write reviews and plan a well-written Sunday Salon post.  Well that all fell apart when I discovered this.

So, there it is.  I admit it.  I am vulnerable. I can be sucked into computer games.  For hours, sometimes days, at a time.  I thought I had it under control but then I saw all those cute little creatures in this fascinating world and I was hooked.

Ah hum.  You can stop laughing now.

It will take a while to get through my system but I will get over it.  I even managed to pick up some books from the library on Friday, including Fingersmith, Marcelo in the Real World, The Family Man, and The Housekeeper and the Professor.

With luck I’ll be over this infatuation before they all become due.  Please think good thoughts.

19 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

19 responses to “Sunday Salon – A Confession

  1. If it’s any help to you, I know that at least two of those books are very good indeed. (Fingersmith and Marcelo in the Real World, the latter of which I just finished reading yesterday.)

  2. I’ve read the first two books and think they are both fantastic, so maybe they will help you with computer game withdrawal! :–)

  3. Gosh, what great loot you got from the library! Sending good thoughts your way to veer your attention in their direction!

  4. You crack me up! I love games too, and am going to check this out in just a minute. Great book choices! Getting to Marcelo in the Real World myself. Happy reading (or clicking)! :)

  5. LOL. I love it. I get suckered in to. There was a game, Zombies vs. Plants I think, that took days away from my life.

    Now I try to put time limits on myself, or justify it if I’m spending time with the family and watching tv. Multitasking, ya know?! :P

  6. I’m laughing with you. I keep saying I’m going to back away from the screen.

    I’m so there with you. :-)

    Your book goes out this week.

  7. Hahaha. I get addicted to games, too. Don’t know if I want to check it out because I might not be able to read the rest of the day!!

    • Claire – I can avoid most games but Faunasphere sucked me right in. I think it was all the super cute creatures that did it.

  8. I will pray for you! I’ve fallen under the spell of these games before. One time, my son accidentally deleted one of these games and really was what saved my soul. It is just better for me not to even touch them. Fingersmith should pull you nicely away from the games though. Phenomenal read.

    • Sandy – I actually finished Marcelo in the Real World on Sunday and hope to start Fingersmith midweek. Have a lovely time in Hawaii!

  9. I’ve been spending way too much time lately playing mah jongg on the aarp website (of all places). It’s great for zoning out, bad for my to-do list.

  10. I had to laugh while I read this post! I’m addicted to video games too! I usually have to go cold turkey to get things done. I finished every video game I have and been thinking of buying a new one. Glad to hear I’m not the only one.

    Marcelo in the Real World is a lovely book. Fingersmith and The Housekeeper and the Professor are both on my TBR list. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on The Family Man. I read and enjoyed it earlier last year.

Leave a Reply

