Sunday Salon – Challenge Check-In

Good Sunday to you!  It is just the first week in March and it feels like May.  The last three afternoons have been just glorious.  I hope the weather doesn’t  turn around, throwing all the budding trees into shock.

And the garden..this afternoon I plan to clean up some border areas, add some compost and pop some seeds into the ground.

I feel I need a challenge check-in.  At the beginning of the year I told myself I would be conservative, not sign up for challenges I didn’t think could finish.  The more I participate, the more I feel constrained in my reading habits.  Of course I kept joining  new and exciting challenges and now feel they have gotten out of hand.  I’ve  had  to drop a couple.  So,  how I’m doing?   I track my challenges on the Challenges 2010 page at the top of my blog.  I am not writing reviews for the 42 Science Fiction Challenge, just adding notes to my list.

2010 Global Reading Challenge – 1/1/2010 to 12/31/2010 – 7 of 12

42 Science Fiction Challenge – 1/1/2010 to 12/31/2010 – 9 of 42

III Canadian Book Challenge – 7/1/2009 to 7/1/2010 – 10 of 13 (The goal is 13 books from the 13 provinces and territories but I have found that difficult.  I am mainly using my library to find books.)

Clover, Bee and Reverie – 1/1/2101 to 12/31/2010 – 2 of 8

GLBT Challenge – 1/1/2010 to 12/31/2010 – 1 of 8

Graphic Novel Challenge 2010 – 1/1/2010 to 12/31/2010 – 3 of 12

IYOB Challenge – 1/1/2010 to 12/31/2010 – 2 of 4

New Authors/New Worlds – 1/1/2010 to 12/31/2010 – 14 of 25

Notable Books Challenge – perpetual – 4 0f 12

Random Reading Challenge – 8/1/2009 to 7/31/2010 – 6 of 12

Science Book Challenge – 1/1/2010 to 12/31/2010 – 0 of 3

I have also joined in with the crew at Diversify Your Reading, am helping to add books to the lists there and expanding my reading to include authors from all over the world.  If  you have read and review books by under-represented authors please follow the link and add your comments.  We will list your reviews.

I am also hoping Carl V will offer the Once Upon A Time challenge again.  It is one of my favorites and I am looking forward to joining in.

This is not as bad as I thought it would be.  I am actually in the middle of reading books for the GLBT Challenge and the Science Book Challenge.  The one challenge I am concerned about is this one.  I love poetry and want to make room for more of it in my life.

What about you?  Have you joined challenges this year?  How do you think you are doing?

7 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

7 responses to “Sunday Salon – Challenge Check-In

  1. Funny – I was just sitting down to do some challenge tracking myself! :)

  2. You are so organized; I’m envious!

  3. It looks like you’re doing great! It seems to be the week to reflect on challenges.

  4. Eva

    I think I’m doing pretty well, though I’m behind on a couple. I’m not worrying about a book from every province for the Canadian Challenge-I think I ended up with about half of them represented.

Leave a Reply

