Sunday Salon – A Quick Post

Hello and happy Sunday Salon.  This will be a quick post as the sun is out and I have to take advantage of it and get some seeds into the ground before it gets rainy and cold again!

I spent most of the week reading Fingersmith by Sarah Waters.  I loved it, you’ll find my brief review here.  I was lucky enough to pick up Waters’ newest novel, The Little Stranger, from the library and have already started reading it.  I also  picked up The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King.  It will be my first King novel.

Sometimes I wait too long to pick up a book.   I tend to avoid books that have gotten a lot of positive buzz, particularly by authors I’m not familiar with.   I have been disappointed in the past, by books deemed wonderful and great by reviewers and judges alike, and I’d rather wait ’til all the hype dies down.That’s why I am number 1028 in line for a copy of  The Help from my library.  I obviously waited too long!

Thanks for visiting and have a wonderful week.

16 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

16 responses to “Sunday Salon – A Quick Post

  1. I read The Beekeeper’s Apprentice a few weeks ago and loved it. And Sarah Waters is on my to read list!

  2. Oh, I think you are going to like The Little Stranger. It isn’t Fingersmith, but what is? You would definitely like The Help as well. There have to be fifty million copies of that flying around…ask your friends, try to mooch it, or worst case scenario, pick it up at Target. You will be glad you did!

    • Sandy – I think you are right about getting my hands on a copy of The Help. I’m not an audio book person or I would download it from the library. I need an excuse to go to Target and now I have one!

  3. I think it’s good to wait when it comes to much-hyped books. I try to give myself distance with those type of books but it often doesn’t work. The Help is a very good read. I have The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and hope to start it soon. Have a great week.

    • Vasilly – I am actually glad I waited to read Fingersmith. It allowed me to think about it without having lots of other people’s thoughts about it swimming around in my head.

  4. There are 1028 in line for The Help?? It must be a very large library system! I wonder if you can you download audiobooks from your library. The wait may be shorter, and The Help is probably my all-time favorite audio. Enjoy that sunshine!

    • JoAnn – Seattle has a huge library system. It is an amazing resource for many. many people. I thought about downloading the audio version but I never manage to finish listening to books when I do that. I guess I need pages of words in my hands:)

  5. The Little Stranger and The Beekeeper’s Apprentice?!? Now that’s a good reading week. The Mary Russell series is probably my favorite mystery series out right now.

  6. I’m almost always disappointed with books that arrive with lots of hype.

    • debnance – I’m often disappointed by over-hyped books as well but am beginning to trust certain blogger recommendations.

  7. Yeah, I’m not in a rush to read The Help. I’ll get to it eventually, I’m sure, when I see it on the library bookshelves a couple of years from now. :)

    The Beekeeper’s Apprentice is fantastic – great, witty dialogue, great characterization. I think it’s the best one of the series, though the second and fifth book are quite good as well.

    • Christy – I’m just going to wait for The Help to become available at the library. People keep suggesting the audio version, maybe I’ll try that. Thanks for your comment!

  8. I have Fingersmith, haven’t yet read any SW but I still think it will be months before I get to it. TOO many books stacking up declaring “I’m NEXT!”

    • Care – I know, I have so many books in piles around my house and on lists and on hold at the library. There just isn’t enough time!

Leave a Reply

