Once Upon A Time IV

At last,  Once Upon A Time IV. I have been waiting for this challenge,  checking Stainless Steel Droppings at least once a day and finally, it is time. To quote Carl V:

For the past four years I have hosted the Once Upon a Time Challenge, an opportunity to band together as a community to celebrate story, in this case the kind that fits roughly under one’s own personal definition of four categories: fantasy, folklore, fairy tale and mythology. As spring rapidly approaches in the Northern Hemisphere, the desire for these stories threatens to overwhelm, and with that, it is time to make the fourth annual Once Upon a Time Challenge official.

Instead of signing up for a quest I will be taking a journey, leaving myself open to read as much or as little as I choose.

The first book?  My 40th anniversery edition of The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle.

I also plan on joining in on a couple of Short Story Weekends.  Follow the link, step into the forest,  join us.

10 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Fantasy

10 responses to “Once Upon A Time IV

  1. I love this challenge and I’m so glad you’re joining! Beagle’s collection of selected short stories was just published and I’m thinking of adding it to my reading list. Happy reading!

    • I love it too. It reminds me to read books and stories I enjoy but have a difficult time fitting into my reading schedule. I have a copy of Beagle’s “We Never Talk About My Brother” and hope to read a story or two for the challenge.

  2. The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle is a book I tried a while ago, but didn’t really get into. I really must try again!

  3. A wonderful choice! Such a beautiful book :)

  4. I always wanted to read that one but paperbacks print is too small for me.. i haven’t heard a revies on this in forever so I look forward to it

    • Maybe The Last Unicorn is on audio? The new edition is a trade paperback, the print is a bit larger. Maybe you could add it to your wishlist?

      By the way, I love your pond/bird photos, sorry I don’t comment more often.

  5. I should look into this challenge. I don’t have much experience in this genre/category/whatever it is! or maybe I should read The Last Unicorn.

    • Care – The last Unicorn is a classic, or you could try Patricia McKillip or Robin McKinley. They are both quite wonderful.

Leave a Reply

