Sunday Salon – Visiting Blogs

It has been a quiet week.  I have read quite a bit  and written several reviews.  I’m happy with that.  The one thing I feel awkward and sad about is not visiting my favorite blogs as much as I would like to.  There are just so many great blogs out there, it is very difficult keeping up with everyone.

And I have become too reliant on Google Reader.  Letting days go by, just skimming the headers, not really looking at them or visiting blogs I enjoy.  So I’m going to go back to the old system for a bit and see if that helps.  Visit blogs directly from my Book Blog list, leave comments, even if just to say “hi”.

How about you?  I’ve asked other bloggers this question before but I think I let things slide because GR is “easy”.   How do you visit blogs?  Do you use a feed reader?  What is your solution if you have one?

Sunday Salon is a collection of  bloggers who read and write about books of all sorts.  To find out more go here.

36 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

36 responses to “Sunday Salon – Visiting Blogs

  1. I too skim headers in GR, but sometimes I ignore the headers and skim the blog titles, just to make sure I drop by places I haven’t been in a while. But I think there is no good solution! There are too many good blogs out there, and not enough time!

    • rhapsody – You are right, there is just not enough time! I am going to try visiting blogs directly for a while and see if that makes a difference.

  2. when I felt overwhelmed by my google reader, i did the same as you and just visited my favorite blogs for awhile directly. It felt like the beginning days of blogging and I really enjoyed it. I’m back to the google reader now, though.

  3. I love my Google Reader. It allows me to read some blogs while I’m at work and helps me stay organized! I can create categories to help me pay attention to the blogs that I really love. As now, I have tabs for “blogs to read daily” “book blogs” “social” “for fun” and I started a “to check out” but haven’t really done much with it.

  4. I do rely on the Google Reader, and I do a lot of skimming and marking as read. I’d feel bad about that, except that I’m realistic enough to know that I can’t read every post on every blog and it’s better to skim than not look at all.

    But, like Christina, I have categories in my reader, one of which is devoted to my absolute favorites, and I really read almost every single post in that folder. The trick is not letting that folder get out of hand! I am due for a reorganization, which I seem to need to do every 6 months or so–just moving some “must-reads” to the “skimming” folder and some new favorites to the “must read” folder.

    • Teresa – Several people suggest setting up folders on GoogleReader. If my new plan doesn’t work well I will try that. Thanks for your comment.

  5. I also use folders in GR, but even that doesn’t seem to help and I often feel overwhelmed. I wish I had a solution! Perhaps we all just need to find a way to stop feeling guilty about how many posts we read and how much we comment. Easier said than done, I know.

    • Nymeth – I think your ideas to stop feeling guilty is a good one. I also intend to visit my favorite blogs at least a couple time a week and use GR folders to help get through the rest.

  6. I use Google Reader and check up on my followers, but it’s fun and serendipitous to randomly stop in to those who post at Sunday Salon.

    I’m hosting a giveaway on my Sunday Salon post today. I plan to give away two $10 gift cards to Amazon on Easter Sunday. I hope you will stop by and sign up!

  7. It can get so overwhelming, especially when you are busy. This has been the case with me for the last couple weeks, and I feel so guilty! But we all get busy, and we all understand that we all go through these phases.

  8. I use Google Reader, but there’s no way I can leave comments on every blog every day. I try to remember who I’ve visited, but I know I miss people on a regular basis.

  9. Lu

    I’ve put my favorite blogs into a separate folder, at the recommendation of some other bloggers, and then I don’t feel so bad after I’ve read those specific blogs. If I see something I want to comment on, I comment on it. And I’ve felt much better about things since then!

  10. There really isn’t a good way to do this that doesn’t leave us all feeling guilty, is there?
    I visit the blogs I follow daily and try to comment often (but there are several that I’m missing and need to update the list). Many others are bookmarked and I visit periodically. I use google reader sometimes, but miss visiting the blogs. There’s got to be a better way…

    • I’m going to go back to visiting blogs directly for a while and see if that works. I’ll use GR for news reads and blogs I’ve just found and want to keep and eye on.

  11. Ti

    I use Google Reader but many of the blogs I visit post more than one post a day so I have to be choosy as far as which post I comment on. I also don’t comment on memes so I skim over those unless they deal with something particularly interesting to me. I figure each blogger sees me at least a couple of times a week and that works for me.

    • There is no way to read every post but I try and read and comment on the ones that draw my attention. Thanks for the comment!

  12. I haven’t got organized enough to set up Google Reader yet… I just click over to my favourite blogs as much as I can. And then I find other ones from there and keep going…

  13. I use Google Reader but have no good system, either! I’m glad to know I’m not alone, at least- it seems like everyone has the same issue! Hopefully that means we are all very understanding of each other.

    • Aarti – I think we all have the same issue, not enough time in a day! From everyone’s comments I believe most people are very understanding of time constraints and daily chaos!

  14. I’ve been having these same feelings lately :( Sort of feeling overwhelmed and guilty for not visiting all of my favorite blogs (like yours) . I use Google Reader too and it really is too easy just to skim past everything and then just hit that “Mark all as read” button. I really like the idea of going back to to the blogroll function and clicking through to blogs. Speaking of, I really need to UPDATE my blogroll! I haven’t done that in ages!

  15. I rely heavily on Google Reader and yes, sometimes I feel guilty, but then it does help me get the “headlines” which is not much different than how I read a newspaper or magazine.

  16. I use Google Reader, and I don’t at all miss doing the direct-visits thing, though part of that’s just because my computer is six years old, and opening fresh pages can take a looooooong time. But generally, I have days where I want to comment on every post I read, and days where I don’t want to comment on anything. I think it averages out, so I try not to feel guilty.

  17. I too need Google Reader just to keep things organized but I mostly read my fave blogs anyway, I just don’t comment on all of them. I know I should, to let the blogger know I’ve read the post, but it is quite impossible to comment on everything. I just hope that when I comment every once in a while in a blog, that that blogger knows I read his/her posts, just don’t feel the need to comment on everything.

    • Claire – There is no way I could comment on every post I read and I think most bloggers understand that. I will use GR for my news feeds and information feeds and to keep track of new blogs I find that I want to keep and eye on.

  18. I definitely understand, Gavin. My life has been a little hectic, so I’ve been mostly skimming blog posts. I was just thinking about how I need to visit my favorite blogs more. I haven’t even had much to reply back to comments left on my blog. I think life is just really busy for most of us. I know we shouldn’t feel guilt over it, but it’s hard not to.

  19. Eva

    Like lots of people, I have my very favourite blogs in their own folder. :) I comment on them regularly, so I click through and see their blogs often. However, I have more free time than many!

Leave a Reply

