Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday Salon to you all.  It has been a funky week for me as I’ve been fighting off a cold/fluish thing and have been sleeping a lot.  I’ve finished two books and several graphic novels but I haven’t written a thing about any of them.  I hope to remedy that by mid-week.

In the mean time I have thought about the upcoming Read-a-Thon and decided to be a cheerleader again.  It is great fun visiting all the readers and leaving silly comments and I hope it helps make the event a fun-filled and stress-free experience.

I plan on reading another fantasy for the Once Upon A Time IV challenge.  I tried reading something by Charles de Lint years ago and it just didn’t click.  Picked up a copy of Moonheart from the library and will jump into that this afternoon.  What are you reading today?  What do you plan on reading this week?

21 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

21 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. Why is it that we give some authors a second chance? I tried a book by de Lint last year and it didn’t quite click either. I liked it well enough but it wasn’t all that great. Yet, I’ve got two more by him on my shelf and plan on giving him another go soon myself.

  2. It seems every time there is a read-a-thon I have a commitment. I have a competition that day.

    I got some great books this week. Come by BES.

    Hope you’re feeling better.

    • Thanks Susan! I tried reading for the last Read-a-Thon and just found it too stressful. Cheer-leading is more my style.

      The new books look great. I read the Aya books last year and loved them and I think there is a new one. I have put Rattlesnake Mesa on hold at the library. Have a great week.

  3. My husband also has a cold, and coughs all night, so I don’t sleep either! :–) I hope you (and he) feel better soon!

    • Thanks for your comment! I think I’ve beaten the cold as I feel well enough to bake a batch of cookies! Hope your husband feels better.

  4. I plan on cheerleading for the read-a-thon too but just for an hour or so. I want to spend the majority of my time reading. I just started Flow by Elissa Stein last night so I plan on reading that today. Have a great Sunday.

  5. Ti

    I am skipping read-a-thon this time. It took me forever to get back into reading after the last read-a-thon. I know that some have the same problem but with all of the books that I’ve agreed to review, I can’t really get burnt out on reading right now.

    I hope you are feeling better. The Hub is sick and coughs all night long so he has been sent to the couch more than once.

  6. I’m pretty excited that I will do the read-a-thon for the first time with my kids! I am excited to have some reading productivity! Glad to have you as a cheerleader!

  7. This will be my third read-a-thon!

    Right now I’m reading Jakov Lind’s Ergo and Todd Newton’s The Ninth Avatar, the first work of fantasy I’ve ever read that isn’t LOTR. I’d recommend it for anyone doing the Once Upon a Time Challenge.

  8. Family commitments will keep me from read-a-thon once again. Hope you’re better before the big day arrives!

  9. OMG Gavin! I LOVE Moonheart. It’s one of my favorite books. But so many people who read it seem to not like it :( I hope it’s different with you, lol. Of course, no hard feelings if it’s not! Hope you feel better soon! No fun being sick :(

  10. Eva

    I really need to read some more de Lint soon! I’m slowly working my way through all his books. :)

  11. I’ve read a couple of de Lints (inc this one) and not quite ‘clicked’ either.

    Still, I’m likely to give him another chance, just because I ‘want’ to love him just as much as others do.

Leave a Reply

